DTM announce 2010 calendar

1 Mins read

The DTM’s 2010 calendar was announced today – with old favourites like Mugello left out once again in favour of new ventures far afield.

There are calendar changes before the racing season even begins – the traditional pre-season event at Düsseldorf has been moved to Weisbaden, where both manufacturers will present their cars and driver lineups for the first time, one week before the season opener at the usual venue of Hockenheim.

Spain’s DTM round has been moved to May this year, and will also change venue from Circuit de Catalunya to Valencia. The middle of the season still remains the same – Eurospeedway Lausitz, Norisring and Zandvoort and the like are now a staple of the DTM calendar.

However, a track which made its debut only last year – Dijon-Prenois – has already dissapeared from the calendar after terminating its contract with DTM organisers. Instead, there will be a race around the streets of Shanghai. It will host the season finale and also make its debut as a proper round in the DTM, after hosting a non-championship round back in 2004, which was won by Mercedes driver Gary Paffett. However this round is yet to be set in stone, as contract negotiations are ongoing. If they fall through, it presents a chance for a track like Mugello to resume a place on the 2010 calendar.

The calendar is awaiting approval from the DMSB and FIA governing bodies.

2010 DTM Calendar (Provisional)
18th April – Weisbaden (D) [Launch Event]
25th April – Hockenheimring (D)
23rd May – Valencia (E)
06th June – EuroSpeedway Lausitz (D)
04th July – Norisring (D)
08th August – Nürburgring (D)
22nd August – Circuit Park Zandvoort (NL)
05th September – Brands Hatch (GB)
19th September – Oschersleben (D)
17th October – Hockenheimring (D)
31st October – Shanghai (CN)

Related posts

Audi Secure the DTM Manufacturers’ Championship With Six Races Still To Run

3 Mins read
Another all Audi podium means that the DTM manufacturers championship is all tied up for this season with Audi being well ahead with 827 points compared to the 356 points of BMW.

The “Flying Dutchman” clinches an extremely rare lights-to-flag victory in the DTM

2 Mins read
Robin Frijns led from start to finish in this unusual race with three safety car appearances at the Nürburgring Sprint circuit.

Frijns Takes Second Victory of 2020 as Championship Leader Müller Fades to Fifth

2 Mins read
Robin Frijns closed the gap on team-mate Nico Müller at the top of the championship standings by winning race two at the Nürburgring on Sunday.

Leave a Reply