TCF BTCC Fans Top 10 Drivers ’00-’09: Number 8

1 Mins read

Finishing 8th in the BTCC Fans vote is a driver who many regard as one of the best. He is also the only former Champion who didn't appear on the grid in 2009. He won his one and only BTCC title in 2003, and was crowned WTCC Champion in 2008 for Seat. With 23 votes, it's Yvan Muller.
His BTCC record this decade reads:

  • 2000 – 4th overall, 2 wins
  • 2001 – 2nd overall, 6 wins
  • 2002 – 2nd overall, 4 wins
  • 2003 – Champion, 6 wins
  • 2004 – 2nd overall, 5 wins
  • 2005 – 2nd overall, 6 wins

Not much else can be said about Yvan Muller. His car control was one of his major strengths, and at Thruxton in 2005, this was shown. As Jason Plato and Yvan came into the final complex Yvan's car went sideways but he was able to hold it and point in the right direction.
At the end of Yvan's BTCC career, he had tasted the victory champagne 36 times in 202 races. Yvan is now in the WTCC, and for 2010 will be racing alongside Alan Menu and Rob Huff for Chevrolet. Yvans WTCC Record reads as:

  • 2006 – 4th overall, 1 win
  • 2007 – 2nd overall, 2 wins
  • 2008 – Champion, 3 wins
  • 2009 – 2nd overall, 4 wins
    347 posts

    About author
    You can find Matt on twitter at @mattaugerracing
    Related posts

    Gamble continues superb BTCC rookie season with maiden win at Knockhill

    2 Mins read
    George Gamble’s superb rookie season continues with a milestone maiden BTCC win for the Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport driver to end proceedings at Knockhill.

    Superb Sutton seals his first win of BTCC Hybrid Era, Gamble on reverse grid pole at Knockhill

    1 Mins read
    Reigning champion, Ash Sutton has his first win of the BTCC hybrid era and for NAPA Racing UK in another top battle with Jake Hill at Knockhill, impressive rookie George Gamble is on reverse grid pole in Race Three.

    Hill fights back to seal Race One honours at Knockhill in thrilling battle with Sutton

    2 Mins read
    Jake Hill fought back to deny Ash Sutton in Race One of BTCC’s return to Knockhill as a tin-top tussle of the finest order was served up.