Austrian Circuit To Make Return In 2011

1 Mins read

DTM organisers have announced the 2011 calendar, with the series set to return to Austria for the first time since 2003.

The circuit located in Spielberg formerly known as the A1-Ring is in the process of being redeveloped, and will reopen next season under the Red Bull Ring name. The circuit hosted the Austrian Grand Prix from 1997 to 2003, but then fell into disrepair as the grandstands and pit buildings were demolished in 2004.

Red Bull owner Dietrich Mateschitz has funded the redevelopment of the venue, which he says is not intended for use in Formula 1, and local politicians have suggested he should relocate one of his two teams there.

The DTM will visit the revamped circuit in June, as its third round of the 2011 season. The inclusion of the Red Bull Ring means that the Italian circuit Adria has been removed from the schedule. The only other significant change is the addition of a Race of Champions style event in the Olympic Stadium in Munich in July. The event will not initially count for championship points, although organisers have not ruled-out making it a proper championship round in the future.

Provisional 2011 DTM schedule:

1 May – Hockenheim
15 May – Zandvoort
5 June – Red Bull Ring
19 June – Lausitz
3 July – Norisring
17 July – Olympic Stadium (non-championship)
7 August – Nurburgring
4 September – Brands Hatch
18 September – Oschersleben
2 October – Valencia
23 October – Hockenheim

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts

Theo Oeverhaus to become youngest ever DTM driver

1 Mins read
17-year-old Oeverhaus will be the youngest ever DTM driver at the next round at the Nürburgring.

Frederic Elsner: “Expectations were absolutely exceeded in the first half of the season”

2 Mins read
DTM Series Manager Frederic Elsner says this year’s season has absolutely exceeded expectations.

Who are DTM’s mid-season standout performers?

5 Mins read
Halfway into the 2022 DTM season, we look at the year’s standout drivers so far.