BTCC Announces 2011 Calendar

Organisers of the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship have announced its provisional calendar for their 2011 season. The calendar once again incorporates ten meetings all over the country, with each event including the usual three races.

The season's openings rounds return to Brands Hatch, the circuit having hosted the opening races for each season between 2006 and 2009. The Kent circuit will again host two meetings during the season. The home of British Motorsport Silverstone in Northamptonshire will host the season finale for the first time since 2006.

The UK's premier motor racing series will also visit Donnington Park in Leicestershire, Thruxton in Hampshire, Oulton Park in Cheshire, Croft in North Yorkshire, Snetterton in Norfolk, Knockhill in Fife and Rockingham in Northamptonshire.

BTCC Series Director Alan Gow commented: “Thanks to all our circuits and the British Automobile Racing Club for enabling us to be so ahead of the game in informing our competitors, partners, the media and public of next year's BTCC calendar. By doing so, we also hope other high-profile motor sporting events can plan around these dates and hopefully avoid some of the ridiculous clashes that in recent years have proven to be highly frustrating for both fans and organising clubs, whose resources have been stretched to breaking point.”

He added: “Above all, the BTCC in 2011 will continue to race at the premier motor sporting venues around the country – a geographical spread that is of huge importance to sponsors and which also enables hundreds of thousands of fans from almost every corner of the UK to see the BTCC in action in their own back yard. We very much look forward to seeing them again in 2011.”

2011 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Calendar (provisional)
Round                       Date                              Circuit, County

1                                  2-3 April                       Brands Hatch, Kent

2                                  16-17 April                   Donington Park, Leicestershire

3                                  30 April-1 May             Thruxton, Hampshire

4                                  4-5 June                      Oulton Park, Cheshire

5                                  18-19 June                  Croft, North Yorkshire

6                                  6-7 August                  Snetterton, Norfolk

7                                  3-4 September            Knockhill, Fife

8                                  17-18 September       Rockingham, Northamptonshire

9                                  1-2 October                Brands Hatch, Kent

10                                15-16 October            Silverstone, Northamptonshire

* All fixtures are Saturday-Sunday