RML Presented MIA Teamwork Award

RML received the Teamwork Award at the annual MIA Business Excellence Awards, in recognition of the Wellingborough-based outfit's superb 2010 season. The team picked up five championship wins over the course of the season, in the World Touring Cars, Le Mans Series and British Touring Cars.

The MIA awards have taken place at the Autosport International Show annually since 1995 and look to recognise and celebrate success across all levels of UK Motorsport. The MIA members vote for seven awards categories, with the winners of the awards chosen for their contribution to Motorsport.

In 2010, the team won the Le Mans Series LMP2 team and driver's titles with Mike Newton and Thomas Erdos, as well as the FIA World Touring Car drivers and manufacturer's titles with Yvan Muller and Chevrolet. Their success with Chevrolet continued in the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, with Jason Plato picking up the drivers title for the team.

RML Chief Exectuvie, Ray Mallock said of the accolade: “It is a great honour to receive this award on behalf of the whole team at RML. In many ways, this is the most significant from our 2010 campaign in that it recognises the outstanding success achieved in five of the toughest UK, European and international championships across three disciplines.

Few, if any other organisations have had this level of success anywhere in the world. RML prides itself on its core values for success, including team work, integrity and to always be the best through continuous improvement. 2010 was testament to those values and I am immensely proud to accept this accolade on behalf of all at RML. It is a fitting tribute to their hard work, their skills and in particular, the team work that RML demonstrates.”