Gow Proud of Record Entry List For BTCC

by Vince Pettit

A record entry list for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship has been announced featuring 27 cars; ten makes and 13 models.

Audi, BMW, Chevrolet, Ford, Honda, Proton, SEAT, Toyota, Vauxhall and Volkswagen are all set to be represented on the grid beating the previous record of nine makes and 11 models in the 1993 season.

BTCC Series Director Alan Gow commented: “I'm very, very proud about the way our 2011 season is taking shape. The fact our entry list includes ten different makes and 13 different models of cars – a record for the BTCC in the two-litre era – in what still remains a challenging financial period is, quite frankly, incredible.”

Gow also echoed how important this year is as the series transfers over to the NGTC regulations. “It is important to be mindful that 2011 is both the beginning of a new era and of a transitional period – with the previous breed of Super 2000 cars and the newer NGTC (turbo) machinery being able to fight on an equal footing for the next two seasons, it will make for a fascinating fight.”


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More