General Formula 3Open Wheel

Roberto Merhi Takes Euro F3 Sprint Race Victory

2 Mins read

Roberto Merhi has won the second round of the opening F3 Euroseries weekend from Marco Wittmann by merely 8 tenths of a second. The 10-lap sprint race at Le Castellet saw the top 3 drivers Merhi, Wittmann and Daniel Juncadella all scrapping for the lead throughout- the trio never separated by more than 2 seconds.

Merhi was relieved to claim victory after a disappointing performance in the opening race of the weekend. “In the second race, my car was really good after we had made a slight mistake in the set-up in the first race. I hope that the season will continue like this.”

2010 Euroseries runner-up Marco Wittmann appeared frustrated at the pace of his rivals: “After race one, in which I only finished fifth, I am now relatively happy with second place. Nevertheless, we still have work to do, because both Prema drivers Roberto and Daniel were really quick again in this race.”

Signature’s Laurens Vanthoor – the pole-sitter after finshing 8th in Race 1, lead a fast-starting Marco Wittmann for the first lap before being passed by Wittmann and Merhi on the second lap. The leading pair then began to struggle for first place, which Merhi took after a mistake by Wittmann in the final sector cost him over a second and left him vulnerable approaching the start/finish line.

Juncadella once again put in a very competitive performance, the Prema Powerteam driver cleared Vanthoor in the final laps of the race and moved into 3rd place, setting the F3 track record in the process. He replaced Vanthoor in the fight for the top 3, but couldn’t find a way past Wittmann.

Juncadella’s later admitted to gearbox troubles throughout, slowing his overall pace and according to the Spaniard, stopped him from challenging for second place. “I am very happy being on the podium again. In the second race, all the drivers were racing with used tyres and it was already better for us than in the previous race. I wasn’t able to attack Marco in the final stages, because Carlos Muñoz held me up for three laps and because I was having slight gearbox troubles.”

The majority of Nigel Melker’s race was very progressive. Winning Race 1 meant he started 8th on the grid for the second round, and quickly moved his way through the field. The German also provided some last-gasp excitement by passing Vanthoor at the end of the last lap, but the Mücke Motorsport driver was penalised as the overtake was deemed illegal. A drive-through penalty was issued, but as it was the last lap the stewards declared that 30 seconds be added to Melker’s overall time at the end of the race, dumping him from 4th to 12th and last place.

Vanthoor’s race went from bad to worse after the Belgian driver was also given a 30 second time penalty after the race’s end, dropping him from 5th to 7th, allowing Felix Rosenqvist to inherit 4th place for Mücke Motorsport.

Due to the short format of the race, tyre management served a less important role and also meant the majority of runners were using worn tyres from previous sessions during the weekend. Merhi finally matched his impressive pre-season pace after struggling with his tyres during the longer Race 1, and takes an early lead in the championship with one more race of the weekend left – another 40-minute race on Sunday.

Nigel Melker still leads the point standings, despite not earning a single point in Round 2, his last chance for points this weekend will come in Round 3 tomorrow morning.

Results - 10 laps:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                Time/Gap
 1.  Roberto Merhi       Prema Dallara-Merc    19m10.637s
 2.  Marco Wittmann      Signature Dallara-VW    + 0.800s
 3.  Daniel Juncadella   Prema Dallara-Merc      + 1.360s
 4.  Felix Rosenqvist    Mucke Dallara-Merc      + 7.056s
 5.  Carlos Muñoz        Signature Dallara-VW   + 10.152s
 6.  Kimiya Sato         Motopark Dallara-VW    + 10.394s
 7.  Laurens Vanthoor    Signature Dallara-VW   + 11.856s
 8.  Kuba Giermaziak     Star Dallara-VW        + 12.607s
 9.  Jimmy Eriksson      Motopark Dallara-VW    + 13.492s
10.  Gianmarco Raimondo  Motopark Dallara-VW    + 16.438s
11.  Daniel Abt          Signature Dallara-VW   + 16.940s
12.  Nigel Melker        Mucke Dallara-Merc     + 34.948s
108 posts

About author
Mark Foley is a new addition to The Checkered Flag team for 2011. An F1 fan at heart, he also has a keen eye on the action-packed open wheel junior formulae across the globe, where the fledgling stars of the future duke it out on the long and winding road to Formula 1.
Related posts
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Marco Andretti returns to the #98 for 2024 Indy 500

1 Mins read
IndyCar veteran Marco Andretti will attempt to qualify for the Indianapolis 500 this year the same way he has for the past three: as a one-off affair with Andretti Global’s (formerly Andretti Autosport) #98 car.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Gil de Ferran, 1967-2023

3 Mins read
Gil de Ferran, 2003 Indianapolis 500 winner and two-time CART series champion died on Friday at 56.
Formula 2Open WheelOther

Formula 2 Returns to The Temple of Speed to Race to the Top

2 Mins read
Formula 2 returns to Monza as fight for the place of the champion continues