General Formula 3Open Wheel

Wittmann Takes Pole Position At Pau

1 Mins read

Marco Wittmann secured pole position for the 70th Grand Prix de Pau by recording the fastest time of Saturday's two qualifying sessions.

Wittmann's Signature teammate Carlos Munoz set the pace in the earlier session, but the second session saw all of the drivers improve on their times.

International F3 Trophy points leader Roberto Merhi was leading at the half way point of the second session for Prema, before being ousted by teammate Daniel Juncadella. The Signature pair would end the session on top though, with a margin of just 0.095 seconds between them.

“I am really happy being on pole position for my maiden race at Pau,” said Wittmann. “We had a good basic set-up and I am feeling very well at this circuit. In first qualifying, I was still slightly behind my team-mate Carlos Munoz, but I knew that I still could go faster.”

Munoz said: “I was still on top after first qualifying, now I am second, just behind my team-mate Marco Wittmann. Having had many problems in qualifying for the first rounds of the Formula 3 Euro Series, I am now really happy with second place.”

The two other Signature drivers, Laurens Vanthoor and Daniel Abt qualified in fifth and sixth places respectively. Tom Dillmann was seventh for Motopark, with Jazeman Jaafar eighth for Carlin. Double R pairing Pipo Derani and Marko Asmer rounded out the top ten, with Kimiya Sato, Carlos Huertas and Richard Bradley completing the field.

Qualifying results:

1.  Marco Wittmann     Signature   1m10.572s
2.  Carlos Munoz       Signature   1m10.667s  (+ 0.095s)
3.  Daniel Juncadella  Prema    1m10.833s  (+ 0.261s)
4.  Roberto Merhi      Prema    1m10.941s  (+ 0.369s)
5.  Daniel Abt         Signature  1m10.998s  (+ 0.426s)
6.  Laurens Vanthoor   Signature  1m11.043s  (+ 0.471s)
7.  Tom Dillmann       Motopark     1m11.209s  (+ 0.637s)
8.  Jazeman Jaafar     Carlin      1m11.417s  (+ 0.845s)
9.  Pipo Derani        Double R   1m11.424s  (+ 0.852s)
10.  Marko Asmer        Double R   1m11.492s  (+ 0.920s)
11.  Kimiya Sato        Motopark     1m11.725s  (+ 1.153s)
12.  Carlos Huertas     Carlin     1m12.081s  (+ 1.509s)
13.  Richard Bradley    Carlin     1m12.198s  (+ 1.626s)

Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply