General Formula 3Open Wheel

Revamped Red Bull Ring To Host F3 Euroseries

1 Mins read

The Red Bull Ring, formerly known as the defunct Grand Prix circuit, the A1 Ring will play host to the 2011 Formula 3 Euroseries for the first time since 2003. Rounds 10-12, scheduled to take place this weekend will be one of the first open-wheel series to tackle the 4.326 kilometre Austrian circuit since it’s grand re-opening/re-branding/renovation in May.

Unsurprisingly, none of the current Euroseries drivers line-up have competed at the circuit before, with current Indycar driver Ryan Briscoe taking both race wins all the way back in 2003 – before going on to claim the championship. It isn’t the case for all the teams however, though only 3 can claim to have competed at the Spielberg track: Prema Powerteam, Mücke Motorsport and Signature.

Peter Mücke, team principal of Mücke Motorsport commented:  “The Red Bull Ring is a demanding circuit that is nicely embedded into the nature. I really like this kind of circuits and I think it's great that the Formula 3 Euro Series will be back racing, there. I'm happy with the course of the season for my team, so far. We have won the season opener in every young-gun series we are involved in. It goes without saying that these successes represented a great start into the season – but that doesn't help when it comes to the following races. After all, the Formula 3 Euro Series in particular is extremely competitive and many drivers have got what it takes to win. But that's exactly how it should be.”

A ‘new’ track for the drivers will obviously make practice even more essential, and give discerning drivers the advantage going into the first rounds. An unexplored venture to the circuit deep in the forests could also play a role in the come the end of the championship, which is hotly contested between the top 3 drivers: Roberto Merhi (Prema Powerteam), Marco Wittmann (Signature) and Felix Rosenqvist (Mücke Motorsport) respectively. 2 other race winners in the form of Kimaya Sato and Daniel Juncadella will also make sure they are pushed to the limit.

Rounds 10-12 of the 2011 Formula 3 Euroseries take place on the 3-6 June 2011.

Avatar photo
108 posts

About author
Mark Foley is a new addition to The Checkered Flag team for 2011. An F1 fan at heart, he also has a keen eye on the action-packed open wheel junior formulae across the globe, where the fledgling stars of the future duke it out on the long and winding road to Formula 1.
Related posts
IndyCarOpen Wheel

McLaren powers through multiple issues during Indy 500 qualifying

2 Mins read
Arrow McLaren had a rough start to their Indy 500 qualifying, but things quickly improved towards the end of the session.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Indy 500 practice notebook: Fast Friday/Saturday Morning

2 Mins read
Fast Friday is in the books at IMS. Some teams handled it better than others, with the Chevy cars running faster than the Hondas.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Indy 500 practice notebook: Day 3

3 Mins read
Another day of Indy 500 practice is done, and it was another day plagued by rain. Before drops fell, teams got six hours on track.