SuperstarsTouring Cars

Cerqui Takes Dominant Maiden Win In First Misano Race

2 Mins read

Alberto Cerqui scored his first win in the International Superstars Series with a dominant victory in Race 1 at Misano.

The 19-year-old Team BMW Italia driver held onto his lead from pole position and kept it for the duration of the race, taking the checkered flag with an advantage of 7.5 seconds.

Cerqui's teammate Biagi started alongside him on the front row, but was jumped by both Luigi Ferrara and Luca Rangoni in their Mercedes at the rolling start, demoting the defending champion to fourth.

Rangoni, making his series return this weekend, then made a mistake though which let Biagi through into third. Rangoni would soon regain the place, but he ran wide again later in the race. This allowed Biagi through into third for good, finishing the race just behind runner-up Ferrara.

Another slide wide for Rangoni later in the race dropped him to fifth behind Johnny Herbert at the finish. The Briton had climbed from tenth on the grid in his Romeo Ferraris Mercedes.

Andrea Bertolini finished sixth in his Swiss Team Maserati, ahead of the two Mercedes of Riccardo Romagnoli and Andrea Dromedari. Sergio Hernandez finished ninth in his Campos Racing BMW ahead of the Motorzone Chevrolet of Fabrizio Armetta.

Race 1 results – 16 laps:

Pos Driver Team Car Time/Gap
1 Alberto Cerqui Team BMW Italia BMW M3 E92 27:37.794
2 Luigi Ferrara CAAL Racing Mercedes AMG C63 7.592
3 Thomas Biagi Team BMW Italia BMW M3 E92 8.104
4 Johnny Herbert Romeo Ferraris Mercedes AMG C63 11.113
5 Luca Rangoni Roma Racing Team Mercedes AMG C63 12.894
6 Andrea Bertolini Swiss Team Maserati Quattroporte 17.099
7 Riccardo Romagnoli CAAL Racing Mercedes AMG C63 25.021
8 Andrea Dromedari Romeo Ferraris Mercedes AMG C63 29.768
9 Sergio Hernandez Campos Racing BMW M3 E92 38.306
10 Fabrizio Armetta Motorzone Race Car Chevrolet Lumina CR-8 38.754
11 Michela Cerruti Romeo Ferraris Mercedes AMG C63 44.089
12 Mauro Cesari MRT by Nocentini Chrysler 300 C SRT-8 56.385
13 Francesca Linossi Movisport BMW M3 E92 1:01.578
14 Francesco Sini Ferlito Motors Jaguar XF/R5.0 1:02.852
15 Luigi Cecchi Ferlito Motors Jaguar XF/R5.0 1:09.982
16 Francesco Ascani Movisport BMW M3 E90 1:17.339
17 Niccolo Mercatali Movisport BMW 550i E60 1:28.648
18 Sandro Bettini Movisport BMW M3 E90 1:40.786
19 Leonardo Baccarelli CAAL Racing BMW 550i E60 +3 Laps
20 Ermanno Dionisio Audi Sport Italia Audi RS4 +5 Laps
Ret Christian Montanari RGA Sportmanship BMW M3 E92 9 Laps
Ret Max Pigoli Romeo Ferraris Mercedes AMG C63 10 Laps
Ret Alessandro Pier Guidi Swiss Team Maserati Quattroporte 11 Laps
Ret Roberto Benedetti RC Motorsport Cadillac CTS V 12 Laps
Ret Alessandro Garofano RGA Sportmanship BMW M3 E92 13 Laps
Ret Stefano Gabellini Team BMW Italia BMW M3 E92 15 Laps
Ret Alex De Giacomi Movisport BMW M3 E90 15 Laps
Ret Riccardo Bossi Audi Sport Italia Audi RS4 0 Laps
Related posts
DTMTouring Cars

BMW face logistical challenges for the 2020 DTM season

3 Mins read
A condensed season for DTM leaves the teams with a logistical nightmare. BMW Team RMG Team Principal Stefan Reinhold reveals how they are planning on coping with the situation.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.
BTCCInterviewsTouring Cars

Rickard Rydell on his career and all things BTCC

9 Mins read
Rickard Rydell became a household name in the 1990s thanks to his exploits in the British Touring Car Championship, the pinnacle of which was clinching the title in 1998 at the wheel of his Volvo S40

Leave a Reply