Touring CarsWTCC

Huff Gets Past Muller To Win Race 2 In Porto

2 Mins read

Rob Huff scored his sixth win of the World Touring Car Championship season with victory in Race 2 on the streets of Porto.

Polesitter Stefano D'Aste made a fast start in his Wiechers-Sport BMW to keep the lead, even pulling away from the chasing Chevrolet duo of Yvan Muller and Huff.

D'Aste, making his WTCC return this weekend, was caught by Muller on the second lap, with the Frenchman eventually finding his way through at the end of lap three when D'Aste got close to the wall.

While Muller went off into the lead, Huff got past D'Aste one lap later. He then set about chasing down his teammate, catching him on lap eight. On the following lap Huff moved around the outside of Muller on the run down to the first chicane, but as Huff turned into the chicane there was contact between the pair.

This sent Huff across the chicane, keeping hold of his lead. He then built up a gap of 1.7 seconds over the final two laps before taking the checkered flag.

D'Aste received a drive-through penalty for being ahead of the pole position grid slot at the start of the race. This allowed Tiago Monteiro to take a popular podium place at his home race for SUNRED. He was followed home by the BMWs of Norbert Michelisz and Tom Coronel.

Race 1 winner Alain Menu could only finish sixth as a result of starting the race from ninth. He did get past Gabriele Tarquini who finished seventh. Franz Engstler was eighth, with Darryl O'Young and Fredy Barth rounding out the top ten.

D'Aste was due to finish 11th after serving his drive-through, but was taken out by Mehdi Bennani at the final chicane on the last lap. D'Aste was able to get across the line in 12th, which later became 11th when Bennani was penalised.

At the halfway stage of the championship Huff leads the drivers' standings by 29 points ahead of Muller, with Menu a further 31 behind. The next round is the WTCC's first visit to Donington Park in the UK on 17th July.

Pos Driver Team Car Time/Gap
1 Robert Huff Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 23:24.533
2 Yvan Muller Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1.797
3 Tiago Monteiro SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 8.728
4 Norbert Michelisz Zengo BMW 320 TC 9.752
5 Tom Coronel ROAL BMW 320 TC 10.059
6 Alain Menu Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 11.114
7 Gabriele Tarquini SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 12.849
8 Franz Engstler Engstler BMW 320 TC 19.474
9 Darryl O’Young Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 24.147
10 Fredy Barth SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 25.787
11 Stefano D’Aste Wiechers BMW 320 TC 30.250
12 Michel Nykjaer SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 34.399
13 Aleksei Dudukalo SUNRED SEAT Leon 2.0 TDI 37.373
14 Pepe Oriola SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 37.950
15 Yukinori Taniguchi Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 38.735
16 Robert Dahlgren Polestar Volvo C30 Drive 39.365
17 Javier Villa Proteam BMW 320 TC 41.084
18 Mehdi Bennani Proteam BMW 320 TC 58.161*
19 Kristian Poulsen Engstler BMW 320 TC 1:53.447

* 30 second penalty

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
DTMTouring Cars

BMW face logistical challenges for the 2020 DTM season

3 Mins read
A condensed season for DTM leaves the teams with a logistical nightmare. BMW Team RMG Team Principal Stefan Reinhold reveals how they are planning on coping with the situation.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.
BTCCInterviewsTouring Cars

Rickard Rydell on his career and all things BTCC

9 Mins read
Rickard Rydell became a household name in the 1990s thanks to his exploits in the British Touring Car Championship, the pinnacle of which was clinching the title in 1998 at the wheel of his Volvo S40

Leave a Reply