Touring CarsWTCC

Muller Beats Dahlgren To Top WTCC Donington Test Session

1 Mins read

Yvan Muller recorded the fastest time in the World Touring Car Championship test session at Donington Park for Chevrolet, but Robert Dahlgren showed promise in the Polestar Volvo by topping the timesheets for much of the session before ending up second to Muller.

Alain Menu set the early pace on his first timed lap, but was soon displaced by standings leader Rob Huff. The Briton remained there until Dahlgren went fastest with his second effort just before the halfway point in the session.

The Swede stayed on top until the closing stages of the session, when Muller went fastest and bettered Dahlgren's lap by nine tenths of a second. Dahlgren improved on his personal best before the end of the session to remain second, ending up 0.285s behind Muller.

Menu got ahead of Huff into third place, nine tenths away from Muller, with Huff over a second down in fourth place.

Tom Coronel was the best of the BMWs in fifth position, half a tenth ahead of Gabriele Tarquini in the first of the SUNRED cars. Javier Villa was the leading Yokohama Trophy contender in seventh, just ahead of Michel Nykjaer. Returnee Colin Turkington was ninth for Wiechers-Sport and Pepe Oriola was tenth.

Tiago Monteiro failed to complete a timed lap due to engine troubles in his SUNRED Leon.

Test session results:

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap Laps
1 Yvan Muller Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:37.194   15
2 Robert Dahlgren Polestar Volvo C30 Drive 1:37.479 0.285 11
3 Alain Menu Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:38.125 0.931 13
4 Robert Huff Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:38.223 1.029 14
5 Tom Coronel ROAL BMW 320 TC 1:38.585 1.391 15
6 Gabriele Tarquini SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:38.640 1.446 13
7 Javier Villa Proteam BMW 320 TC 1:38.664 1.470 15
8 Michel Nykjaer SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:38.764 1.570 11
9 Colin Turkington Wiechers BMW 320 TC 1:38.813 1.619 15
10 Pepe Oriola SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:38.839 1.645 14
11 Norbert Michelisz Zengo BMW 320 TC 1:38.949 1.755 14
12 Kristian Poulsen Engstler BMW 320 TC 1:39.174 1.980 17
13 Darryl O’Young Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:39.414 2.220 17
14 Aleksei Dudukalo SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:39.980 2.786 14
15 Mehdi Bennani Proteam BMW 320 TC 1:40.067 2.873 15
16 Fredy Barth SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 1:40.261 3.067 6
17 Franz Engstler Engstler BMW 320 TC 1:40.370 3.176 14
18 Yukinori Taniguchi Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze 1.6T 1:41.487 4.293 9
19 Fabio Fabiani Proteam BMW 320si 1:45.642 8.448 9
20 Tiago Monteiro SUNRED Sunred SR Leon 1.6T 3
Related posts
DTMTouring Cars

BMW face logistical challenges for the 2020 DTM season

3 Mins read
A condensed season for DTM leaves the teams with a logistical nightmare. BMW Team RMG Team Principal Stefan Reinhold reveals how they are planning on coping with the situation.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.
BTCCInterviewsTouring Cars

Rickard Rydell on his career and all things BTCC

9 Mins read
Rickard Rydell became a household name in the 1990s thanks to his exploits in the British Touring Car Championship, the pinnacle of which was clinching the title in 1998 at the wheel of his Volvo S40

Leave a Reply