SuperstarsTouring Cars

Rangoni Wins Second Misano Race Upon Series Return

2 Mins read

International Superstars Series returnee Luca Rangoni won the second race of the day at Misano.

The Roma Racing Team Mercedes driver moved into second place at the rolling start past Thomas Biagi and behind polesitter Alberto Cerqui. Biagi was also passed by Luigi Ferrara, repeating his poor start from the first race.

Rangoni passed Cerqui for the lead on lap two, and held onto the lead until the checkered flag, despite his lead being cancelled by a mid-race safety car due to oil on the circuit from Riccardo Bossi's Audi.

Max Pigoli attempted to take third place from Ferrara, but pushed his fellow Mercedes wide and off the circuit. This dropped both down the order, with Andrea Bertolini assuming third place.

Bertolini and Biagi passed Cerqui for second and third places respectively, but then made contact as Biagi tried to pass the Maserati. This sent both cars spinning and dropped them down the order. Johnny Herbert took advantage of the incident to move into second place, as Ferrara and Cerqui had to take a wide line to avoid the two spinning cars.

Ferrara crossed the line in third behind Herbert but was handed a 0.5 second penalty for contact with Cerqui on the final lap. This promoted Cerqui to third with Ferrara fourth. Stefano Gabellini followed the duo across the line in fifth, ahead of Alessandro Pier Guidi in his Maserati.

Riccardo Romagnoli and Andrea Dromedari finished seventh and eighth, with Mauro Cesari and Alex De Giacomi completing the top ten.

Ferrara has extended his championship lead to 19 points, with Cerqui now second. Bertolini has slipped to third, 23 points off the lead with Biagi a further point behind.

The next round of the season takes place at Spa-Francorchamps on 7th August.

Race 2 results – 14 laps:

Pos Driver Team Car Time/Gap
1 Luca Rangoni Roma Racing Team Mercedes AMG C63 27:39.638
2 Johnny Herbert Romeo Ferraris Mercedes AMG C63 4.785
3 Alberto Cerqui Team BMW Italia BMW M3 E92 7.030
4 Luigi Ferrara CAAL Racing Mercedes AMG C63 7.051
5 Stefano Gabellini Team BMW Italia BMW M3 E92 7.318
6 Alessandro Pier Guidi Swiss Team Maserati Quattroporte 8.871
7 Riccardo Romagnoli CAAL Racing Mercedes AMG C63 14.061
8 Andrea Dromedari Romeo Ferraris Mercedes AMG C63 14.435
9 Mauro Cesari MRT by Nocentini Chrysler 300 C SRT-8 14.750
10 Alex De Giacomi Movisport BMW M3 E90 15.566
11 Francesca Linossi Movisport BMW M3 E92 15.583
12 Ermanno Dionisio AUDI Sport Italia AUDI RS4 17.690
13 Andrea Bertolini Swiss Team Maserati Quattroporte 18.185
14 Roberto Benedetti RC Motorsport Cadillac CTS V 19.011
15 Sandro Bettini Movisport BMW M3 E90 22.326
16 Leonardo Baccarelli CAAL Racing BMW 550i E60 24.248
17 Niccolo Mercatali Movisport BMW 550i E60 24.787
18 Thomas Biagi Team BMW Italia BMW M3 E92 35.762
19 Francesco Sini Ferlito Motors Jaguar XF/R5.0 1:03.152
Ret Christian Montanari RGA Sportmanship BMW M3 E92 6 laps
Ret Christian Montanari Motorzone Race Car Chevrolet Lumina CR-8 6 laps
Ret Riccardo Bossi AUDI Sport Italia AUDI RS4 6 laps
Ret Max Pigoli Romeo Ferraris Mercedes AMG C63 5 laps
Ret Michela Cerruti Romeo Ferraris Mercedes AMG C63 3 laps
Ret Luigi Cecchi Ferlito Motors Jaguar XF/R5.0 1 lap
Ret Alessandro Garofano RGA Sportmanship BMW M3 E92 1 lap
Ret Sergio Hernandez Campos Racing BMW M3 E92 0 laps
Ret Francesco Ascani Movisport BMW M3 E90 0 laps

Championship standings after 5 of 8 rounds:

1. Luigi Ferrara, 118 points
2. Alberto Cerqui, 99 points
3. Andrea Bertolini, 95 points
4. Thomas Biagi, 94 points
5. Max Pigoli, 68 points
6. Stefano Gabellini, 61 points

Avatar photo
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
BTCCTouring Cars

Rowbottom rounds out superb weekend for NAPA Racing UK with second career win at Thruxton

2 Mins read
Dan Rowbottom has sealed a second career BTCC win with NAPA Racing UK having a dominant weekend at Thruxton leading home Adam Morgan and Aiden Moffat.
BTCCTouring Cars

Six wins from seven for Sutton in another Thruxton procession

1 Mins read
Ash Sutton has won six out of the last seven races and for the third weekend in a row has won two out of three races as his BTCC dominance continues at Thruxton.
BTCCTouring Cars

Defending champion Ingram claims Snetterton reverse grid win as Cammish and Cook star

1 Mins read
Despite being under the weather, Tom Ingram leaves Snetterton with a Race Three victory to cut the gap to a few points to standout Ash Sutton.