DTMTouring Cars

Spengler Wins Shortened Race At A Wet Norisring

2 Mins read

Bruno Spengler won a DTM race that was ended early due to heavy rain at the Norisring.

The race started with five laps behind the safety car due to the rain, and after the field was released Spengler retained his lead over Mercedes teammates Gary Paffett and Jamie Green.

Paffett crashed out of second place on lap 16, allowing Green to chase down Spengler. He had Mattias Ekstrom's Audi for company though, and the pair fought over the lead when Spengler made his first stop on lap 45. Ekstrom got ahead, only for Green to take the place back on the following lap.

Spengler resumed the lead when Green and Ekstrom both made their first stops. Ekstrom chose to make his second stop only a couple of laps later, but a lack of pace afterwards meant he would drop down the order. Spengler and Green made their second stops, with Spengler still in the lead.

With the rain getting heavier the safety car came out on lap 58, and with no sign of the conditions improving the race was red-flagged on lap 65 of 84.

This gave Spengler the win ahead of Green, who could not score his fourth straight Norisring victory. Martin Tomczyk recovered from tenth on the grid to finish third and complete the podium. The older-spec Audi driver worked his way up to sixth early on, and then made two pitstops in three laps to jump Ekstrom, Ralf Schumacher and Timo Scheider.

Scheider finished fourth, ahead of rookie Edoardo Mortara and Schumacher. Ekstrom slipped to seventh, ahead of Mucke Mercedes teammates David Coulthard and Maro Engel. Renger van der Zande completed the top ten.

Spengler's victory returned him to the top of the standings, three points clear of Tomczyk, whose recovery drive to third was not enough to keep hold of the championship lead. The DTM will be in action again in two weeks' time with a non-championship stadium event at Munich's Olympic Stadium.

Pos. Driver / Entrant Team/Car Time/Gap
1. Bruno Spengler HWA Mercedes 1:04:43.617
2. Jamie Green HWA Mercedes 00.499
3. Martin Tomczyk Phoenix Audi 01.493
4. Timo Scheider Abt Audi 02.760
5. Edoardo Mortara Rosberg Audi 04.725
6. Ralf Schumacher HWA Mercedes 06.098
7. Mattias Ekström Abt Audi 07.022
8. David Coulthard Mucke Mercedes 09.672
9. Maro Engel Mucke Mercedes 11.320
10. Renger van der Zande Persson Mercedes 12.773
11. Christian Vietoris Persson Mercedes 14.112
12. Miguel Molina Abt Audi 15.459
13. Susie Stoddart Persson Mercedes 17.515
14. Mike Rockenfeller Abt Audi 21.030
15. Oliver Jarvis Abt Audi 21.556
16. Filipe Albuquerque Rosberg Audi 22.394
17. Rahel Frey Phoenix Audi + 1 lap
18. Gary Paffett HWA Mercedes 15 laps
Related posts

Audi Secure the DTM Manufacturers’ Championship With Six Races Still To Run

3 Mins read
Another all Audi podium means that the DTM manufacturers championship is all tied up for this season with Audi being well ahead with 827 points compared to the 356 points of BMW.

The “Flying Dutchman” clinches an extremely rare lights-to-flag victory in the DTM

2 Mins read
Robin Frijns led from start to finish in this unusual race with three safety car appearances at the Nürburgring Sprint circuit.

Frijns Takes Second Victory of 2020 as Championship Leader Müller Fades to Fifth

2 Mins read
Robin Frijns closed the gap on team-mate Nico Müller at the top of the championship standings by winning race two at the Nürburgring on Sunday.

Leave a Reply