WTCC Racers Oriola And Bennani Join Salzburgring Entry

The entry list for this weekend's European Touring Car Cup at the Salzburgring has been revealed, with World Touring Car Championship stars Pepe Oriola and Mehdi Bennani joining the field.

17-year-old Oriola will race a SEAT Leon TDI, run by the same SUNRED Engineering outfit that runs him in the WTCC.

Moroccan driver Bennani will race a BMW 320si for the Proteam Racing squad whom he drives for in the WTCC. Both Oriola and Bennani will be making their first appearances in the ETC Cup.

The Super 2000 category is made up of nine other entries. Two-time champion Michel Nykjaer races a Chevrolet Cruze, while former European champion Fabrizio Giovanardi races a Honda Accord with Wolfgang Treml as his teammate at Hartmann Racing.

Swiss outift and ETC Cup regulars Rikli Motorsport enter two Hondas – a Civic FD model for team owner Peter Rikli and an Accord Euro R for Christian Fischer. Occasional WTCC entrant Ibrahim Okyay will race his BMW 320si. ADAC Procar runners Jens-Guido Weimann and Andreas Kast will take part in their BMW and Audi respectively. The Super 2000 entries are completed by Swede Tomas Engstrom in a Honda Accord.

In the Super Production class, WTCC driver Fabio Fabiani attempts to reclaim the title he won in 2008 behind the wheel of his BMW 320i. His competition comes in the form of Serbian Honda Civic driver Aleksandar Tosic and Dutch driver Niek Oude Luttikhuis in a Mitsubishi Carisma.

The Super 1600 class will be contested by five Ford Fiestas, including the LPG-powered car of Thomas Muhlenz.

Full entry list