Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24
Formula FordFormula Renault BARCFormula Renault UKGeneral Formula 3Open Wheel

2011 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award Launched

1 Mins read

Alex Lynn Is One Driver Expected To Be In Contention For 2011 Award - Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography


The voting has opened for the 2011 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, the prestigious award that aims to find Britain’s most promising young driver.

Following in the footsteps of 1998 winner Jenson Button, 2004 winner Paul Di Resta and 2010 winner Lewis Williamson, the winner of the 2011 award will receive a McLaren Formula One Test, £100,000 of Puma racewear for 2012 and a TW Steel watch.

Voting is now open for people to nominate who they feel deserves to be considered for the award and people can vote by emailing [email protected] with ‘nominations’ in the subject line and the drivers name in the message.

To be eligible, drivers must have been 16 to 22 years of age on January 1st, 2011, have been born in the UK or hold a British passport and have competed in a single-seater championship up to and including British F3 National class or European equivalent.

Possible nominees include:

Alex Lynn – Champion-elect in Formula Renault UK, taken 11 wins.

Scott Malvern – Champion-elect in Formula Ford of Great Britain, taken 15 wins.

Will Stevens – Currently 4th in Formula Renault Eurocup, taken 1 win.

Tom Blomqvist – 2010 finalist, competing in German Formula 3.

Oliver Rowland – Currently 3rd in Formula Renault UK, leading Graduate Cup.

Jack Hawksworth – Currently 4th in Formula Renault UK, 1 win.

Dino Zamparelli – Series leader in Formula Renault BARC, 4 wins.

Josh Webster – Currently 2nd in Formula Renault BARC, 2 wins.

James Thorp – Currently 3rd in Formula Renault BARC, 2 wins.

Kieran Vernon – Racewinner in Formula Renault BARC before moving to Porsche Carrera Cup GB.

Alex Walker – Currently 2nd in Intersteps and recently made Formula Renault UK debut.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.


Leave a Reply