Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24

Molina Beats Spengler To Surprise Pole By Just 0.001s

2 Mins read
Miguel Molina - Photo Credit:

Miguel Molina - Photo Credit:

Miguel Molina took a shock first pole position in the DTM by beating championship contender Bruno Spengler by just one thousandth of a second in qualifying at Oschersleben.

The Spaniard, who is yet to score a point in this his sophomore year in the series, was second fastest in Q3 behind Spengler and ahead of Abt Audi teammates Oliver Jarvis and Mattias Ekstrom.

Running in reverse order in the one-lap Q4, Ekstrom was beaten by Jarvis who was in turn bettered by Molina. Spengler ran last but missed out on Molina's time by just 0.001 seconds.

Timo Scheider and Jamie Green will share the third row after failing to make it through to Q4, ahead of Ralf Schumacher and Edoardo Mortara.

Maro Engel took ninth as the quickest man to be knocked out in Q2. He was just ahead of Mike Rockenfeller and Filipe Albuquerque, who had been quickest in both free practice sessions. Mercedes trio David Coulthard, Christian Vietoris and Renger van der Zande filled positions 12 to 14.

Championship leader Martin Tomczyk had a disaster of a session and failed to make it out of Q1 in 15th. He was joined on the sidelines early on by Gary Paffett, who failed to complete a flying lap due to engine problems in his Mercedes.

Qualifying times:

Pos. Driver / Entrant / Car Time Session 
1. Miguel Molina
Audi Sport Team Abt Junior
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
1:22.371 Q4
2. Bruno Spengler
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Klasse
1:22.372 Q4
3. Oliver Jarvis
Audi Sport Team Abt
Audi Sport performance cars A4 DTM
1:22.517 Q4
4. Mattias Ekström
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
1:22.687 Q4
5. Timo Scheider
Audi Sport Team Abt
1:22.090 Q3
6. Jamie Green
AMG Mercedes
AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:22.111 Q3
7. Ralf Schumacher
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:22.149 Q3
8. Edoardo Mortara
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
Playboy Audi A4 DTM
1:22.818 Q3
9. Maro Engel
GQ AMG Mercedes
GQ AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:22.333 Q2
10. Mike Rockenfeller
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
1:22.339 Q2
11. Filipe Albuquerque
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
TV Movie Audi A4 DTM
1:22.348 Q2
12. David Coulthard
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:22.426 Q2
13. Christian Vietoris
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:22.507 Q2
14. Renger van der Zande
stern AMG Mercedes
stern AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:22.518 Q2
15. Martin Tomczyk
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Schaeffler Audi A4 DTM
1:22.978 Q1
16. Susie Stoddart
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
1:23.275 Q1
17. Rahel Frey
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Glamour Audi A4 DTM
1:23.314 Q1
18 Gary Paffett
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
No time Q1
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Müller to Skip Final Three Rounds, Eriksson Set to Continue in Dragon Seat

1 Mins read
Nico Müller will not return to Formula E for the remainder of the 2020-21 season as he turns his primary focus to racing in the DTM Series.

Kelvin van der Linde Celebrates 25th Birthday With His First DTM Win

2 Mins read
Whilst the rest of the pack battled for second and third place, the birthday boy thundered ahead to take his first ever DTM win.

Liam Lawson Becomes Youngest Ever DTM Race Winner

2 Mins read
In the first race of the 2021 DTM season, 19 year old Lawson gives Ferrari their first ever win in the DTM.

Leave a Reply