Tomczyk Masters Wet Brands Hatch To Lead Home All-Audi Podium

2 Mins read

Martin Tomczyk delivered a fine performance at a rain-soaked Brands Hatch to win the race and retake the standings lead.

Polesitter Mike Rockenfeller made a decent start to retain the lead, while Mattias Ekstrom flew from fifth on the grid around the outside of Paddock Hill Bend to take second place from Gary Paffett.

Tomczyk had fallen from third on the grid to fifth at the start, but when Edoardo Mortara passed Paffett ahead of him, Tomczyk followed the Italian through into fourth and then passed Mortara for third.

Tomczyk went on to take second from Ekstrom at Clearways before passing Rockenfeller at the same point to take the lead on lap ten. Ekstrom passed Rockenfeller for second a few laps later and chased after Tomczyk but the German held on to win when the race hit its time limit after 88 laps of the Indy circuit.

Mortara followed Ekstrom passed Rockenfeller to take third place and he held on to take his maiden podium finish in the DTM, completing a 1-2-3 finish for Audi.

Rockenfeller continued to fall backwards and was spun around by Ralf Schumacher at Surtees. As Paffett and Schumacher took fourth and fifth places as the top Mercedes drivers, Rockenfeller held onto sixth place under pressure from Bruno Spengler.

Jamie Green recovered to finish eighth after a couple of dramas. He fell back from fourth on the grid with a poor start and then ran wide through the gravel at Paddock Hill before spinning at Clearways and slipping back to 12th. He claimed the final point though after taking eighth from Oliver Jarvis at the end.

Tomczyk's victory moves him one point ahead of Spengler, while a non-score for Timo Scheider leaves the two-time champion 21 points adrift in third place. Three rounds remain, with the next race being at Oschersleben in two weeks' time.

Race results – 88 laps:

Pos. Driver / Entrant / Car Time/Gap
1. Martin Tomczyk
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Schaeffler Audi A4 DTM
2. Mattias Ekström
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
3. Edoardo Mortara
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
Playboy Audi A4 DTM
4. Gary Paffett
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
5. Ralf Schumacher
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
6. Mike Rockenfeller
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
7. Bruno Spengler
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Klasse
8. Jamie Green
AMG Mercedes
AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
9. Oliver Jarvis
Audi Sport Team Abt
Audi Sport performance cars A4 DTM
10. Maro Engel
GQ AMG Mercedes
GQ AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
11. Filipe Albuquerque
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
TV Movie Audi A4 DTM
+1 lap
12. David Coulthard
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
+1 lap
13. Christian Vietoris
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
+1 lap
14. Susie Stoddart
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
+1 lap
15. Renger van der Zande
stern AMG Mercedes
stern AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
+1 lap
16. Timo Scheider
Audi Sport Team Abt
+3 laps
17. Rahel Frey
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Glamour Audi A4 DTM
+20 laps
Ret Miguel Molina
Audi Sport Team Abt Junior
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
8 laps

Drivers' standings after 7 of 10 rounds:

1. Martin Tomczyk, 50pts
2. Bruno Spengler, 49
3. Timo Scheider, 29
4. Mattias Ekstrom, 29
5. Jamie Green, 25
6. Mike Rockenfeller, 23

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Müller to Skip Final Three Rounds, Eriksson Set to Continue in Dragon Seat

1 Mins read
Nico Müller will not return to Formula E for the remainder of the 2020-21 season as he turns his primary focus to racing in the DTM Series.

Kelvin van der Linde Celebrates 25th Birthday With His First DTM Win

2 Mins read
Whilst the rest of the pack battled for second and third place, the birthday boy thundered ahead to take his first ever DTM win.

Liam Lawson Becomes Youngest Ever DTM Race Winner

2 Mins read
In the first race of the 2021 DTM season, 19 year old Lawson gives Ferrari their first ever win in the DTM.

Leave a Reply