Green Scores Comfortable Victory In Final Race Of 2011

2 Mins read
Jamie Green - Photo Credit: dtm.com

Green crosses the finish line as the DTM's customary end-of-year fireworks commence - Photo Credit: dtm.com

Jamie Green took the last victory for the current set of DTM technical regulations in comfortable style at Hockenheim.

The Briton got the better of polesitter Miguel Molina on the run down to the first corner and went on to take an unchallenged victory, his first since Norising last year and the first for a Mercedes driver since Bruno Spengler won this year's Norising race back in July.

“I feel very proud to have won this race which is also the final outing for the AMG Mercedes C-Class, the most successful car in DTM history,” said Green. “My car was perfect and I'm so pleased to have won here at Hockenheim for the second time.

“Now I can start the winter break on a high as a race winner this year. Many thanks to my team for all their work today and throughout the season. I'm looking forward to the new DTM era which starts in 2012.”

Molina also lost out to 2011 champion Martin Tomczyk on the opening lap, but the latter did not have the speed to match Green and finished seven seconds down the road.

“It was an outstanding race and a nice conclusion of the season, which I enjoyed very much,” he said. “I wasn't able to completely keep up with Jamie's pace, but that was secondary today.

“It was great to finish the year on the podium and to start into the winter break this way. My thanks go to everyone in Audi Sport Team Phoenix and at Audi who has supported me. It's been a brilliant season.”

Molina secured his maiden podium finish in third, some way ahead of Mike Rockenfeller. Gary Paffett came home right behind Rockenfeller after passing Timo Scheider just after the German had completed his first stop, which came one lap later than Paffett's.

Mattias Ekstrom also passed Scheider later in the race to finish sixth, with it securing the runner-up spot in the championship. He was able to overhaul Bruno Spengler after the Canadian fell to ninth on the opening lap of the race. Scheider and Oliver Jarvis came home in formation in front of Spengler.

Race results – 38 laps:

Pos. Driver / Entrant / Car Time/Gap
1. Jamie Green
AMG Mercedes
AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
2. Martin Tomczyk
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Schaeffler Audi A4 DTM
3. Miguel Molina
Audi Sport Team Abt Junior
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
4. Mike Rockenfeller
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
5. Gary Paffett
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
6. Mattias Ekström
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
7. Timo Scheider
Audi Sport Team Abt
8. Oliver Jarvis
Audi Sport Team Abt
Audi Sport performance cars A4 DTM
9. Bruno Spengler
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Klasse
10. Filipe Albuquerque
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
TV Movie Audi A4 DTM
11. Ralf Schumacher
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
12. Renger van der Zande
stern AMG Mercedes
stern AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
13. Edoardo Mortara
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
Playboy Audi A4 DTM
14. Maro Engel
GQ AMG Mercedes
GQ AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
15. Susie Wolff
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
16. Rahel Frey
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Glamour Audi A4 DTM
17. David Coulthard
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
+ 1 lap
Ret Christian Vietoris
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
10 laps
Related posts

Audi Secure the DTM Manufacturers’ Championship With Six Races Still To Run

3 Mins read
Another all Audi podium means that the DTM manufacturers championship is all tied up for this season with Audi being well ahead with 827 points compared to the 356 points of BMW.

The “Flying Dutchman” clinches an extremely rare lights-to-flag victory in the DTM

2 Mins read
Robin Frijns led from start to finish in this unusual race with three safety car appearances at the Nürburgring Sprint circuit.

Frijns Takes Second Victory of 2020 as Championship Leader Müller Fades to Fifth

2 Mins read
Robin Frijns closed the gap on team-mate Nico Müller at the top of the championship standings by winning race two at the Nürburgring on Sunday.

Leave a Reply