Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/thecheck/public_html/wp-content/themes/inhype/content-single.php on line 24

Tomczyk Crowned Champion As Ekstrom Wins At Valencia

2 Mins read
Filipe Albuquerque, Mattias Ekstrom, Martin Tomczyk and Hans-Jurgen Abt on the podium - Photo Credit:

Filipe Albuquerque, Mattias Ekstrom, Martin Tomczyk and Hans-Jurgen Abt on the podium - Photo Credit:

Martin Tomczyk has taken the 2011 DTM title after finishing third at Valencia in a race won by Mattias Ekstrom from pole position. Filipe Albuquerque finished in second as Audi picked up its third consecutive 1-2-3 finish.

Swede Ekstrom wasn't touched during the race, and had built up an advantage of 18 seconds over fellow front-row starter Albuquerque by the time he took the checkered flag after 45 laps. Portuguese rookie Albuquerque enjoyed a similarly comfortable run to his best finish to date in his Rosberg-run older-spec Audi.

Tomczyk started the race down in 10th on the grid, but was up to sixth by the end of the first lap. He was able to make up three further places during the second pit stops to secure third place, enough to put him out of reach of rival Bruno Spengler ahead of the season finale at Hockenheim.

The 29-year-old's maiden title comes in his 11th season in the DTM, and his first season after switching from a top-spec car with Abt to an older-spec car run by the Phoenix squad. Indeed, Tomczyk becomes the first driver of an older car to win the title.

Timo Scheider finished fourth after getting past older-spec Mercedes drivers Renger van der Zande and David Coulthard. The duo were both racing under appeal after failing post-qualifying checks, meaning they are not classified in the results unless the appeal is successful.

This means that the results show an Audi lockout of the top six, with home racer Miguel Molina and Oliver Jarvis next up. Spengler is classified as the top Mercedes in seventh, having started 12th. He had been running behind HWA teammate Jamie Green until the Briton dropped back on the penultimate lap. Gary Paffett took the final point in eighth.

Race results – 45 laps:

Pos. Driver / Entrant / Car Time/Gap
1. Mattias Ekström
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
2. Filipe Albuquerque
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
TV Movie Audi A4 DTM
3. Martin Tomczyk
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Schaeffler Audi A4 DTM
4. Timo Scheider
Audi Sport Team Abt
5. Miguel Molina
Audi Sport Team Abt Junior
Red Bull Audi A4 DTM
6. Oliver Jarvis
Audi Sport Team Abt
Audi Sport performance cars A4 DTM
7. Bruno Spengler
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG
Mercedes-Benz Bank AMG C-Klasse
8. Gary Paffett
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes
Thomas Sabo AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
9. Mike Rockenfeller
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline
10. Jamie Green
AMG Mercedes
AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
11. Susie Stoddart
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes
TV Spielfilm AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
12. Christian Vietoris
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes
Junge Sterne AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
13. Ralf Schumacher
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes
Salzgitter AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
14. Rahel Frey
Audi Sport Team Phoenix
Glamour Audi A4 DTM
15. Maro Engel
GQ AMG Mercedes
GQ AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
16. Edoardo Mortara
Audi Sport Team Rosberg
Playboy Audi A4 DTM
+3 laps
Renger van der Zande
stern AMG Mercedes
stern AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
Not classified
David Coulthard
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes
Deutsche Post AMG Mercedes C-Klasse
Not classified

Drivers' standings after 9 of 10 rounds:
1. Martin Tomczyk, 64 points
2. Bruno Spengler, 51
3. Mattias Ekstrom, 49
4. Timo Scheider, 34
5. Mike Rockenfeller, 26
6. Jamie Green, 25

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Müller to Skip Final Three Rounds, Eriksson Set to Continue in Dragon Seat

1 Mins read
Nico Müller will not return to Formula E for the remainder of the 2020-21 season as he turns his primary focus to racing in the DTM Series.

Kelvin van der Linde Celebrates 25th Birthday With His First DTM Win

2 Mins read
Whilst the rest of the pack battled for second and third place, the birthday boy thundered ahead to take his first ever DTM win.

Liam Lawson Becomes Youngest Ever DTM Race Winner

2 Mins read
In the first race of the 2021 DTM season, 19 year old Lawson gives Ferrari their first ever win in the DTM.

Leave a Reply