Touring Cars

Improved Megane Trophy For 2012

1 Mins read

The Megane Trophy Is Set For Changes For 2012


The details have been announced for the 2012 Megane Trophy, with the Renault series introducing new more powerful engines and an endurance series for the new campaign.

The Megane Trophy, which was created in 2005, will use cars with new 400bhp powerplants, Renault Sport Technologies adding 40bhp on previous models.

The Eurocup series will once again run as part of the World Series by Renaut, meaning there will be seven meetings in 2012, running from May to October. Prize money for the season stands at over €182,000, with the series winner to also be rewarded with a day's testing with Nissan Motorsport International (Nismo).

The series is also branching out into endurance racing with the Megane Trophy Endurance Challenge. Teams can attach an endurance kit to the cars, consisting of a 100-litre tank and central-locking nut wheels.

The challenge comprises three events: the Gulf 12 Hours, held in Abu Dhabi; the Nürburgring Nordschleife Endurance Meeting and the 6 Hours of Vallelunga. Teams will consist of three drivers per car, with teams receiving technical support from Renault Sport Technologies and its partners at all three events. 

Provisional 2012 Eurocup Megane Trophy calendar:

– 5-6 May: Motorland Aragon, Spain

– 2-3 June: Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium

– 30 June-1 July: the Nürburgring, Germany

– 14-15 July: Moscow Raceway, Russia*

– 15-16 September: Hungaroring, Hungary

–  29-30 September: Paul Ricard HTTT, France

– 20-21 October: Barcelona, Spain

*Pending approval by the FIA

Related posts
BTCCTouring Cars

Butcher wins BTCC finale, Sutton claims second championship title

2 Mins read
Rory Butcher eased to victory in the final Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship race of the season as Ash Sutton sealed his second drivers’ title with a sixth place finish.
BTCCTouring Cars

Sutton wins to put himself on the brink of the title

2 Mins read
Ash Sutton won a chaotic second Kwik Fit British Touring Car race of the day at Brands Hatch to extend his championship lead over Colin Turkington to 11 points with one race remaining.
BTCCTouring Cars

Cammish storms to victory in opener from Sutton who takes championship lead

2 Mins read
Dan Cammish produced a stunning drive to win the first race of the Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship Finals Day in treacherous wet conditions at Brands Hatch

Leave a Reply