Audi Announce DTM Driver Lineup: Jarvis Dropped

2 Mins read
Ernst Moser, Mike Rockenfeller, Timo Scheider, Rahel Frey, Edoardo Mortara, Miguel Molina, Wolfgang Ullrich, Filipe Albuquerque, Mattias Ekstrom, Arno Zensen and Hans-Jurgen Abt. Photo: DTM.com

Audi's DTM team of 2012, from left to right: Phoenix's Ernst Moser, Mike Rockenfeller, Timo Scheider, Rahel Frey, Edoardo Mortara, Miguel Molina, Audi motorsport head Wolfgang Ullrich, Filipe Albuquerque, Mattias Ekstrom, Team Rosberg's Arno Zensen and Abt Sportsline's Hans-Jurgen Abt. Photo: DTM.com

Audi have announced their driver lineup for this year's DTM season, with the main story being that Oliver Jarvis has been left out after four years in the series.

The arrival of BMW with a six-car lineup has prompted Audi to reduce their fleet from nine to seven cars. With reigning champion Martin Tomczyk having defected to BMW, it is Brit Jarvis that has been dropped.

The crack Abt squad will only run three cars instead of five, with two-time champions Mattias Ekstrom and Timo Scheider leading their attack. In the third Abt-run Audi A5 will be Rahel Frey, the female racer who is retained despite only managing a best result of 12th in her debut season last year, when she was driving for Phoenix team.

With Tomczyk having left and Frey having switched to Abt, Phoenix have an all-new pair of drivers, in Miguel Molina and Mike Rockenfeller. Spaniard Molina has raced for Abt for the previous two years, and claimed two pole positions towards the end of last year.  2012 will be Rockenfeller's sixth year in the DTM with Audi, and returns to Phoenix having raced for Abt last year.

The Rosberg team keeps an unchanged lineup, with both Edoardo Mortara and Filipe Albuquerque staying on after strong rookie campaigns in 2011.

“We wanted all of our teams and drivers to start into the new DTM era with the same prerequisites,” said Head of Audi Motorsport Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich. “I'm convinced that with our three long-standing partner teams and the proven drivers we're extremely well set for the new DTM season which promises to become particularly thrilling due to the battle between the three German premium manufacturers, Audi, BMW and Mercedes-Benz, and will be a tough competition.

“Not least due to the tightened regulations even the minutest details will count. That's why continuity with the teams and drivers was important to us. Mattias and Timo know how to win the DTM and each of them is drawing on experience from more than 100 DTM races. Mike won his first DTM race in 2011, Filipe, Edoardo and Miguel all mounted the podium for the first time last year. And I also believe that Rahel is able to cause some surprises in her second DTM season. During the winter tests she showed that she has a lot of potential.”

Jarvis scored three podium finishes during his DTM career, and will remain with Audi to compete in sportscars.

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY Champion and Reigning DTM Champion to test for Jaguar

3 Mins read
Jaguar have announced that Simon Evans and reigning DTM Champion Sheldon van der Linde will complete Monday’s Rookie Test for the team.
DTMFormula EFormula Regional European Championship

ABT CUPRA to run Reigning ETCR Champion and ADAC Youngster in Rookie Test

2 Mins read
Reigning ETCR Champion Adrien Tambay and FREC driver Tim Tramnitz will drive for ABT CUPRA next Monday in the Formula E Rookie Test
DTMFormula E

Kelvin van der Linde to replace Robin Frijns for foreseeable future

3 Mins read
ABT DTM driver Kelvin van der Linde has been confirmed as Robin Frijns’ replacement at next weekend’s Diriyah E-Prix, with the Dutchman ruled out for potentially the bulk of the season.