Mortara Claims DTM Pole For The First Time In Spielberg

Mattias Ekstrom, Edoardo Mortara and Gary Paffett - Photo Credit: DTM Media
Mortara will line up ahead of DTM champions Paffett and Ekstrom on the grid - Photo Credit: DTM Media

Edoardo Mortara has scored the first pole position of his DTM career for the race in Spielberg in Austria.

The Italian driver posted the fastest time in the Q4 shootout in his Audi, to finish up more than a tenth clear of championship leader and Mercedes driver Gary Paffett.

After a tough start to the season versus their rivals, Audi have been the team to beat so far around the Red Bull Ring, topping both practice sessions before Mortara's pole. Their leading driver Mattias Ekstrom was also in the fight for pole after setting the pace in Q3, but could only manage third on the grid.

Defending champion Martin Tomczyk ensured that all three marques were represented in the final segment, the German driver taking fourth in his BMW.

Another BMW pilot Joey Hand shone on his way to fifth ahead of teammate Bruno Spengler. Jamie Green, second practice pacesetter Filipe Albuquerque, Dirk Werner and Ralf Schumacher completed those that were knocked out at the end of Q3.

Augusto Farfus was the first of those to exit in Q2 in his BMW, and will line up 11th on the grid in front of the Audis of Miguel Molina and Mike Rockenfeller and Mercedes' Christian Vietoris. Abt Audi men Adrien Tambay and Timo Scheider were the others to get no further than Q2.

Roberto Merhi, Andy Priaulx and Robert Wickens were knocked out in Q1 together with female racers Susie Wolff and Rahel Frey, while David Coulthard propped up the 22 runners.

The race begins at 12.30 BST on Sunday.