Wittmann Gets 2013 DTM Race Seat Promotion With BMW

1 Mins read

As the current field of DTM drivers for next season is changing, as everyone is still underway with preparations for next year’s shenanigans, there have been rumours as to just who would be joining BMW Motorsport’s Team MTEK outfit.

But now Marco Wittmann, the 23-year-old BMW DTM test driver from Fürth, has been given a welcome chance from Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt and his team, in respect of his efforts, assisting their campaign throughout this season. His ties with the Munich squad have been established in foray into open-wheel racing, having competed in both the Formula BMW ADAC and Europe Championships, as well as having competed in the F3 Euroseries from 2009 to 2011.

The current six-driver line-up that helped BMW Motorsport secure a welcomed and incredibly impressive clean sweep of the DTM titles this season will be retained for another year. So current DTM champion Bruno Spengler, along with Martin Tomczyk, Joey Hand, Andy Priaulx, Augusto Farfus and Dirk Werner will, as stated by Marquardt, clearly be the logical choices to put faith in for 2013, along with Wittman and one other driver to join the stable at Team MTEK, who will be announced a later time.

Marco spent the 2012 season preparing intensively for this opportunity,” Marquardt commented about the youngster joining BMW for 2013, “He was a permanent part of the team throughout the entire year and was present in every meeting. He knows the processes just as well as the other drivers. Furthermore, his tests in the BMW M3 DTM showed he is more than capable of coping with the DTM. As such, he fully deserves a DTM seat in 2013.”

There is still speculation as to who may fill the final place, but there are some candidates that would be worthy to do so, as there is the upcoming test in Estoril, where BMW will be measuring up just who is worthy of drive against such hallowed company next season. It could be an even more exciting development in prospect……

363 posts
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY Champion and Reigning DTM Champion to test for Jaguar

3 Mins read
Jaguar have announced that Simon Evans and reigning DTM Champion Sheldon van der Linde will complete Monday’s Rookie Test for the team.
DTMFormula EFormula Regional European Championship

ABT CUPRA to run Reigning ETCR Champion and ADAC Youngster in Rookie Test

2 Mins read
Reigning ETCR Champion Adrien Tambay and FREC driver Tim Tramnitz will drive for ABT CUPRA next Monday in the Formula E Rookie Test
DTMFormula E

Kelvin van der Linde to replace Robin Frijns for foreseeable future

3 Mins read
ABT DTM driver Kelvin van der Linde has been confirmed as Robin Frijns’ replacement at next weekend’s Diriyah E-Prix, with the Dutchman ruled out for potentially the bulk of the season.