Honda Reveal 2013 BTCC Title Challenger And New Livery

Defending British Touring Car Champions Honda have revealed its new livery for 2013.

The white and red of the Civic remains although the latter is more prominent than the 2012 design.

“It’s definitely a change, but still incorporating Honda and the sponsors,” said defending champion Gordon Shedden. “It’s eye-catching and we’ll certainly stand out on the track.”

Team manager Peter Crolla is aware of the challenge from others, despite their strong standing at the end of 2012.

“We’ve worked very hard over the last few months.” he said. “What we ended up with last year was a strong car, but we recognise there are a lot of teams who are going to improve.

“There was nothing we could radically change, but we’ve tried to evolve the car in a number of areas, like the engine and suspension. We hope the changes will keep it ahead of the pack but I think there will be stronger competition than last year.”

Shedden will once again be joined by three-time champion Matt Neal who is looking forward to the season getting under way.

“We’ve left no stone unturned,” he said. “We’ve got all the boxes ticked”.

“I don’t like to be confident because that breeds complacency, but I’m looking forward to it. It’s my turn to win this year!”