EV / HybridFormula E

ABT Sportsline Seventh Team Signed Up To Formula E

1 Mins read

ABT Sportsline will compete in the new FIA Formula E Championship, competing under the banner of Audi Sport ABT Formula E Team.

The team, led by Team Principle Hans-Jurgen Abt, will become the seventh and only German outfit to enter the new series. The name is based on the name used in its successful commitment as an Audi factory team in DTM.

“We’re proud to have the opportunity to take part in the debut of this new racing series. Participating in the new FIA Formula E Championship marks a completely new chapter in our more than 60-year motorsport history,” said Abt. “As a company that has been active in the field of regenerative powertrains and electric mobility we’re convinced of the series’ concept. It’s innovative, delivers motorsport at the highest level and a great show for fans around the world – all of which are a perfect fit for ABT Sportsline.”

ABT Sportsline is one of the most successful teams in Germany, winning five DTM titles as well as championships in GT and endurance racing. Signing up to Formula E takes ABT back to its roots, when it scored its first success in Formel ADAC and Formula Three. The team now await final approval on its entry, joining the other signed up teams, Andretti Autosports, Dragon Racing, China Racing, Super Aguri, Drayson Racing and e.dams.

“We’ve been watching this new project of the FIA with great interest and are delighted that ABT Sportsline as one of our close and long-standing partners will be involved right from the beginning,” said Head of Audi Motorsport Dr Wolfgang Ullrich. “We’re keeping our fingers crossed for the squad on tackling this new challenge and are planning to support its commitment with drivers from our factory line-up if required.”

Related posts
Formula E

McLaren sign option to enter Formula E in Season 9

1 Mins read
McLaren are set to explore a possible entry in to the 2022-23 FIA Formula E season following the end of their contract to supply batteries.
FeaturesFIA WECFormula EIMSA

The Audi Story, Part 3: Racing into the Future

3 Mins read
In the final instalment of The Audi Story, TheCheckeredFlag looks over Audi’s recent racing history, its move into electric racing and where the marque will go next.
Formula E

TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E team shows promise in pre-season testing

2 Mins read
Season 7 will be the team’s second season in Formula E

Leave a Reply