Cooper Confirmed As World RX Tyre Supplier

Cooper Tire Europe has signed a three-year deal to supply tyres for the FIA World Rallycross Championship.

Cooper, along with its sister brand Avon Tyres, have a strong association with rallycross, having supplied tyres to the European Rallycross competitors for the past two decades, with Avon also currently the exclusive tyre supplier to the French Rallycross Championship.

The inaugural ‘World RX’ season will consist of twelve rounds across Europe, North and South America, with competitors including 1997 Formula 1 world champion Jacques Villeneuve, 2003 World Rally champion Petter Solberg and ten-times X Games medallist Tanner Foust.

“We’re extremely excited about the inaugural World RX season and we’re thrilled to have Cooper on board for the next three years,” said World RX managing director Martin Anayi.

“Cooper has a very long and extremely successful history in the rallycross arena and it’s undoubtedly the tyre of choice for the vast majority of competitors.”

“Rallycross is a very demanding sport which provides unique challenges. For competitors to tackle the changing surfaces, from tarmac to gravel, they need a tyre which is capable of handling both rough and smooth surfaces,” added Sarah McRoberts, marketing communications manager for Cooper Tire Europe.

“Meeting this unique challenge is something that Cooper excels at and particularly prides itself on. We’re very much looking forward to being part of the FIA World Rallycross Championship and this new chapter of rallycross history.”