Mercedes-Benz Unveils DTM Team Line-Up

1 Mins read

The seven drivers that make up this year’s squad along with Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport, Toto Wolff, attended a very special event to present the forthcoming onslaught from the “Three-Pointed Star” come May 4th.

Workers at the Untertürkheim plant got to see the drivers and their boss in person, ahead of the thirtieth anniversary season of the DTM getting underway. The day’s proceedings began with Christian Vietoris driving his C-Class AMG Coupe around the facility, being led by Formula One’s Bernd Mayländer with the DTM C63 AMG Safety Car.

The drivers gave their thoughts on the forthcoming season and signed numerous autographs, as the official team line-ups for Mercedes-Benz were unveiled ahead of the season opener at Hockenheim:

Original Teile/AMG Mercedes (HWA): Christian Vietoris & Paul Di Resta

EURONICS/GRIP Mercedes AMG (HWA): Gary Paffett & Robert Wickens

Petronas/AMG Mercedes (Mücke): Daniel Juncadella & Vitaly Petrov

gooix Mercedes AMG (HWA): Pascal Wehrlein

The workers also got the chance to change tyres in the pit stop simulator and take on young racing ace Wehrlein in the simulator. Wolff himself says that the team has got a “strong squad,” as their drivers have a range of talent and experience, with both Paffett and di Resta being those that have already captured the DTM title: “Also taking the wheel of our DTM Mercedes AMG C-Coupés will be drivers who have already made a name for themselves in DTM and Formula 1, plus our Mercedes Juniors. I am convinced that our drivers will be giving colleagues and fans alike plenty to shout about this year.”

So the final 4-day test will push all to their limits, as the time for talking will soon stop in the first weekend of May, as the DTM hits the home straight towards lights out at Hochenheim. There’s just 25 days left until it all begins again….



Related posts

The Future of DTM

1 Mins read
With the end of Class One cars in DTM, what does the future hold and how are the changes going to affect the sport?

Réne Rast Claims His Third DTM Championship Title

2 Mins read
In a final race weekend of the unusual 2020 DTM season, Audi driver Réne Rast claimed his third Championship Title.

Audi Secure the DTM Manufacturers’ Championship With Six Races Still To Run

3 Mins read
Another all Audi podium means that the DTM manufacturers championship is all tied up for this season with Audi being well ahead with 827 points compared to the 356 points of BMW.

Leave a Reply