Blomqvist Defeats Ocon for Race 1 Win in Hungary

Tom Blomqvist took his third win of the 2014 FIA European Formula 3 Series season as he got the better of Frenchman Esteban Ocon in race one around the twisty Hungaroring circuit.

Blomqvist managed to get into the lead at the first corner, edging ahead of pole sitter Ocon. The Briton went on to win the 21-lap race by almost five seconds as the Prema Powerteam driver dropped back from the tail of the Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver towards the end of the race.

Pau race winner Felix Rosenqvist inherited third position early in the race after Dutch teenager Max Verstappen was forced to retire his Van Amersfoort Racing machine with an apparent mechanical issue, and the Swede held on to keep Mucke Motorsport team-mate Lucas Auer behind him, but both ended up well behind the battle for the race win.

Jordan King was fifth for Carlin ahead of Jules Szymkowiak for Van Amersfoort Racing who took his career best result in the series in sixth. Felix Serralles was seventh for Team West-Tec F3 with Dennis van de Laar in eighth for Prema Powerteam. Mitch Gilbert took ninth for Fortec Motorsport, while Seal Galael took the final point for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin in tenth, just holding off the challenge of a charging Jake Dennis who came through from the back of the grid after a driveshaft failure during qualifying to finish eleventh.

There were a number of drive-through penalties applied during the race that affected the final result, including for Prema Powerteam’s Antonio Fuoco and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Gustavo Menezes, who both were running well inside the top ten when penalised for exceeding track limits.

Hungaroring Race 1 Result

1 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin  
2 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam +4.897s
3 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mucke Motorsport +13.180s
4 Lucas Auer AUT Mucke Motorsport +14.517s
5 Jordan King GBR Carlin +17.592s
6 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing +34.332s
7 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 +36.090s
8 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam +39.033s
9 Mitch Gilbert AUS Fortec Motorsport +42.057s
10 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +42.765s
11 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin +43.241s
12 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport +44.817s
13 Felipe Guimaraes BRZ Double R Racing +46.140s
14 John Bryant-Meisner SWE Fortec Motorsport +49.346s
15 Roy Nissany ISR Mucke Motorsport +49.986s
16 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport +51.521s
17 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing +55.888s
18 Hector Hurst GBR Team West-Tec F3 +1m05.790s
19 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam +1m06.397s
20 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing +1m19.632s
21 Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing +1m24.898s
22 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam +1m35.591s
23 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +2 Laps
RET Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 6 Laps
RET Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational 0 Laps