European Formula 3

Championship Leader Ocon Tops Free Practice in Pau

2 Mins read

Lotus Junior driver Esteban Ocon set the fastest time during the two 40-minute practice sessions ahead of this weekends Pau round of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship. The Prema Powerteam driver set a best time of 1:10.688s to beat Van Amersfoort Racing’s sixteen-year-old Dutchman Max Verstappen into second place by 0.171s. For Verstappen, it was a mightily impressive session, as it was his first ever session on a street circuit in a single-seater car.

The Mucke Motorsport drivers Felix Rosenqvist and Lucas Auer finished third and fourth as the team continued to improve. Another driver improving every time out is Jake Dennis, who was the leading Carlin driver in fifth. Fellow Briton Tom Blomqvist was sixth for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, ahead of two more Carlin drivers in Ed Jones and Jordan King.

EuroInternational’s Riccardo Agostini and Fortec Motorsport’s Mitchell Gilbert completed the top ten around the tight street circuit lined with unforgiving Armco barriers.

The barriers would claim its first victims of the weekend when Prema Powerteam’s Antonio Fuoco, Mucke Motorsports Roy Nissany and EuroInternational’s Michele Beretta all suffered damage when hitting the walls. Beretta’s incident brought out the only red flag of the session.

This afternoon’s first qualifying session of the weekend has been divided into two, so to try and give drivers the best opportunity to set laps on a clearer track than what might have been had all 26 cars been qualifying at the same time.

Pau Free Practice Times (Combined FP1 & FP2)

1 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam 1:10.688
2 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 1:10.859
3 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mucke Motorsport 1:10.950
4 Lucas Auer AUT Mucke Motorsport 1:11.083
5 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin 1:11.292
6 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:11.385
7 Ed Jones UAE Carlin 1:11.434
8 Jordan King GBR Carlin 1:11.454
9 Riccardo Agostini ITA EuroInternational 1:11.461
10 Mitchell Gilbert AUS Fortec Motorsport 1:11.494
11 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 1:11.612
12 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:11.713
13 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam 1:11.728
14 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam 1:11.729
15 Felipe Guimaraes BRZ Double R Racing 1:11.874
16 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:12.002
17 Gustavo Menezes BRZ Van Amersfoort Racing 1:12.053
18 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:12.113
19 John Bryant-Meisner SWE Fortec Motorsport 1:12.128
20 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing 1:12.448
21 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing 1:12.506
22 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:12.539
23 Roy Nissany ISR Mucke Motorsport 1:13.048
24 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational 1:13.500
25 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam 1:13.568
26 Hector Hurst GBR Team West-Tec F3 1:13.673


Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply