European Formula 3

Ocon Continues to Impress with Race 1 Win in Pau

2 Mins read

Esteban Ocon took his third win of his rookie FIA European Formula 3 Championship season to extend his lead in the standings. The Prema Powerteam driver twice had to contend with the introduction of the safety car, but ended up winning by 2.922s from Austrian Lucas Auer.

It was a confident display from the Frenchman, who is the only driver in 2014 to have won more than once in the seven races so far. He lead away from pole position and was never troubled and controlled the post-safety car restarts perfectly.

Auer was also comfortable in second, the Mucke Motorsport driver finishing ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s sixteen-year-old rookie Max Verstappen. For the Dutchman, it was a confident display during his first ever street circuit race in a single-seater car.

Jake Dennis took advantage of Prema Powerteam’s Canadian driver Nicholas Latifi pulling into the pits on the formation lap with a race-ending car issue to finish in fourth in the leading Carlin car, as the Briton continued to improve more as the season goes on. Dennis finished just ahead of his team-mate and the 2013 British Formula 3 champion Jordan King.

Felix Serralles put his qualifying crash behind him to finish sixth for Team West-Tec F3, just ahead of the leading Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver of Italian Antonio Giovinazzi. Eighth went to another driver who crashed in qualifying in the form of Carlin’s Ed Jones, the Dubai driver showing no ill effects after his big accident on Friday. Richard ‘Spike’ Goddard for ThreeBond with T-Sport, and Sean Galael for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin completed the top ten.

The first safety car period was caused by a crash between ThreeBond with T-Sport Alexander Toril and Fortec Motorsport’s Mitchell Gilbert on the first lap that eliminated them both, while EuroInternational’s Italian racer Michele Beretta ended his day needing to be removed from the track for the second safety car.

For some of the championship favourites it was not a great first race, and the likes of Tom Blomqvist, Antonio Fuoco and Felix Rosenqvist will be hoping for better results in the remaining two races.

Pau Race 1 Result

1 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam 35m36.291s
2 Lucas Auer AUT Mucke Motorsport +2.922s
3 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing +5.951s
4 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin +11.368s
5 Jordan King GBR Carlin +12.673s
6 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 +14.710s
7 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +15.797s
8 Ed Jones UAE Carlin +21.196s
9 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport +24.022s
10 Seal Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +24.864s
11 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +26.059s
12 John Bryant-Meisner SWE Fortec Motorsport +26.510s
13 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam +26.715s
14 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mucke Motorsport +28.113s
15 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing +29.548s
16 Felipe Guimaraes BRZ Double R Racing +29.672s
17 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam +30.443s
18 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing +34.853s
19 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing +35.525s
20 Roy Nissany ISR Mucke Motorsport +42.210s
21 Hector Hurst GBR Team West-Tec F3 +45.011s
22 Riccardo Agostini ITA EuroInternational +1 Lap
RET Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational 12 Laps
RET Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam 0 Laps
RET Mitchell Gilbert AUS Fortec Motorsport 0 Laps
RET Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport 0 Laps


Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply