Lotus Junior Ocon Dominates Hungary Race Two

Esteban Ocon extended his championship lead with a dominant lights-to-flag win around the Hungaroring. The Prema Powerteam driver led home his Italian team-mate Antonio Fuoco by almost seven seconds at the end of the 21-lap race.

It is Lotus Junior driver Ocon’s fourth win of his rookie season, and at no time during the race looked troubled, pulling away from Fuoco with relative ease. Fuoco himself had to keep an eye on his mirrors as the Mücke Motorsport machine of Austrian Lucas Auer was constantly within a second of the Italian. Auer eventually had to settle for third, ahead of his Swedish team-mate Felix Rosenqvist.

Ocon’s main championship rival Tom Blomqvist was fifth, but the Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver was not able to challenge the top four, and the Briton saw his deficit in the championship increase to 65 points.

Blomqvist’s team-mate Antonio Giovinazzi was sixth, ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Gustavo Menezes in seventh, while Felix Serralles of Team West-Tec F3, Nicholas Latifi of Prema Powerteam and John Bryant-Meisner of Fortec Motorsport completed the top ten.

Just like in race one on Saturday, drive through penalties affected the race result, including in the top ten. Carlin’s Jake Dennis was the first to receive a penalty for a blatant jump-start that saw him climb to fourth from ninth on the grid. Van Amersfoort Racing’s Max Verstappen was the next to take a drive through when he was penalised for excessively running wide at turn 4 and exceeding track limits, relegating him from his fifth place on the track to a sixteenth place finish, one place ahead of Dennis.

Hungaroring Race 2 Result

1 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam 34m14.307s
2 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam +6.977s
3 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport +7.373s
4 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport +8.294s
5 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +9.449s
6 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +12.957s
7 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing +13.473s
8 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 +25.804s
9 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam +26.769s
10 John Bryant-Meisner SWE Fortec Motorsport +28.559s
11 Mitchell Gilbert AUS Fortec Motorsport +29.086s
12 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam +30.844s
13 Felipe Guimaraes BRZ Double R Racing +33.778s
14 Roy Nissany ISR Mücke Motorsport +34.479s
15 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing +34.987s
16 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing +39.234s
17 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin +40.163s
18 Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing +54.569s
19 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing +54.978s
20 Hector Hurst GBR Team West-Tec F3 +59.340s
21 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +1m01.572s
22 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport +1m03.029s
23 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport +1m05.301s
24 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational +1 Lap
RET Jordan King GBR Carlin 0 Laps