Max Verstappen Completes Euro F3 Hat-Trick at Spa

Dutchman Max Verstappen completed the rare feat of claiming three wins out of three in a FIA European Formula 3 Championship weekend as he won race three at Spa-Francorchamps.

The Van Amersfoort Racing driver started fifth and moved up to third on the opening lap, passing both Felix Serralles of Team West-Tec F3 and Felipe Guimaraes of Double R Racing into La Source just as Fortec Motorsports’ John Bryant-Meisner jumped into the lead ahead of Prema Powerteam’s Esteban Ocon.

Bryant-Meisner’s lead was short-lived however, with Verstappen drafting past both the Swede and Frenchman Ocon to take the lead on the second lap down the Kemmel straight, the favourite overtaking place for the Dutchman all weekend. Ocon attempted to claim the lead from Verstappen the following lap but was handed a warning flag for a dangerous manoeuvre by stewards after the two banged wheels.

A lap later Ocon did take the lead at Les Combes, but a loss of momentum from being off line saw Verstappen take the lead back around the outside of the following corner. He would not get such a good opportunity again.

A crash between Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver Antonio Giovinazzi and Team West-Tec F3’s Hector Hurst caused the safety car to be deployed when Hurst’s car was left with a damaged suspension in a dangerous place at the Bus Stop.

The safety car retreating back into the pit lane left a three lap sprint to the line, but Ocon could not find a way past Verstappen. Gustavo Menezes in the second Van Amersfoort Racing car took his second podium of the weekend after a good battle with Serralles who ended up fourth, while Nicholas Latifi of Prema Powerteam came home fifth.

Tom Blomqvist lost more ground to championship leader Ocon and finished sixth for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, ahead of Jake Dennis for Carlin, Jules Szymkowiak for Van Amersfoort Racing, Felix Rosenqvist for Mücke Motorsport and Jordan King for Carlin.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 3 Result

1 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 35m47.919s
2 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam +0.495s
3 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing +2.266s
4 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 +3.090s
5 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam +3.912s
6 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +4.230s
7 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin +5.284s
8 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing +6.108s
9 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport +7.525s
10 Jordan King GBR Carlin +9.188s
11 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +10.083s
12 Roy Nissany ISR Mücke Motorsport +10.527s
13 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport +12.423s
14 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +12.950s
15 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport +13.053s
16 Santino Ferrucci USA EuroInternational +13.399s
17 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam +14.067s
18 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing +17.219s
19 Mitchell Gilbert AUS Fortec Motorsports +17.851s
20 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational +18.782s
21 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam +23.040s
22 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport +43.446s
23 John Bryant-Meisner SWE Fortec Motorsports +1 Lap
RET Felipe Guimaraes BRZ Double R Racing 10 Laps
RET Hector Hurst GBR Team West-Tec F3 8 Laps
RET Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing 6 Laps