Ocon Snatches Race 1 Pole from Verstappen at Spa

Esteban Ocon continued his amazing run of FIA European Formula 3 Championship qualifying efforts by taking his seventh consecutive pole position for race 1 at Spa Francorchamps. He beat fellow rookies Max Verstappen and Antonio Fuoco in an entertaining session.

Lotus junior Ocon set a best lap time of 2:10.049s to defeat Van Amersfoort Racing’s Verstappen by the small margin of 0.061s, with Ocon’s Prema Powerteam team-mate Fuoco third only 0.176s away from top spot.

Mucke Motorsport’s Lucas Auer took fourth on the grid, recovering after suffering gearbox issues in free practice, with the Austrian qualifying just ahead of Gustavo Menezes in the second Van Amersfoort Racing entry who secured his best qualifying position of the season to date.

British driver Tom Blomqvist was tje leading Jagonya Ayam with Carlin in sixth, ahead of Auer’s Mucke team-mate Felix Rosenqvist in seventh. Jake Dennis was the leading Carlin driver in eighth ahead of Felix Serralles of Team West-Tec F3, while Spaniard Alexander Toril of ThreeBond with T-Sport rounded out the top ten.

Jordan King was disappointed to end up twenty-fifth after a puncture left his Carlin car stranded on track midway through the session. Another driver left to be disappointed was Prema Powerteam’s Dennis van de Laar, who has been forced to miss both of todays qualifying sessions as his team make repairs to his car after crashing in free practice and being collected by the Richard Goddard. The tub damage to van de Laar’s car might see him miss the whole weekend but his mechanics will work hard to get him onto the grid for tomorrow’s races.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 1 Qualifying Result

1 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam 2:10.049
2 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 2:10.110
3 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam 2:10.225
4 Lucas Auer AUT Mucke Motorsport 2:10.340
5 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing 2:10.572
6 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 2:10.601
7 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mucke Motorsport 2:10.625
8 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin 2:10.659
9 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 2:10.834
10 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport 2:10.933
11 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam 2:10.976
12 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing 2:10.983
13 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 2:11.123
14 Mitchell Gilbert AUS Fortec Motorsports 2:11.411
15 Felipe Guimaraes BRZ Double R Racing 2:11.553
16 Santino Ferrucci USA EuroInternational 2:11.576
17 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport 2:11.623
18 Roy Nissany ISR Mucke Motorsport 2:11.770
19 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing 2:11.811
20 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 2:11.813
21 John Bryant-Meisner SWE Fortec Motorsports 2:11.854
22 Hector Hurst GBR Team West-Tec F3 2:12.218
23 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational 2:12.406
24 Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing 2:12.630
25 Jordan King GBR Carlin 2:12.753
26 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam No Time