Punta del Este announced as Formula E venue

The “Monte-Carlo of South America,” Punta del Este has been announced as the third venue of the first ever Formula E season.

Taking place in six months time, the Punta del Este ePrix will consists of a 1.1 mile track, complete with 20 corners, racing against the backgrop of the beach and harbour.

The Uruguayan circuit will also become the second South American ePrix alongside the fourth round, Buenos Aires.

South American driver, Juan Manuel Lopez, who became the first South American to test the car has given the circuit his approval.

“It’s a very nice location, next to the sea and the beach,” said the driver. “There are many places where the track is not that wide too, so it’s going to be a place where you really need to keep your concentration. The surface of the roads is very different in places, meaning there is more grip in certain parts of the track, but the Formula E cars are well prepared for that kind of transition.”

Once again, the support of the innovative series is entwined with the promotion of electric vehicles as CEO of Formula E, Alejando Agag, praised: “From the very outset, the Punta del Este authorities have been incredibly supportive of the FIA Formula E Championship. Punta del Este has shown a real commitment to sustainability and we hope by becoming a host Formula E city this will continue to showcase the benefits of electric vehicles.”

To date, four of the ten Formula E tracks have been revealed by organisers. The historic street of Long Beach and the former Olympic site of Beijing are just some of the styles of circuit that drivers such as Lucas Di Grassi and Bruno Senna will get the chance to race on in the first ever season of the fully electric series.