Six in a row for Amazing Verstappen after Norisring Triple

Max Verstappen completed his second hat-trick of race victories in consecutive weekends after finishing the Norisring weekend of the FIA European Formula 3 Championship on top in convincing style. The Van Amersfoort Racing driver led the race from start to finish to win by 4.761s from Esteban Ocon, with Jordan King taking his second podium of the day in third.

For the third time of the weekend, the first lap saw some carnage that necessitated the use of the safety car. After the race was delayed when Dennis van de Laar stopped on the grid causing a second formation lap, Roy Nissany of Mücke Motorsport and Jules Szymkowiak of Van Amersfoort Racing came to blows on the run down to the first hairpin. At the hairpin, Jake Dennis made a mistake in his Carlin machine and hit the side of Tom Blomqvist of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, which in turn caused a traffic jam that jumbled up the running order.

Verstappen made a terrific start to avoid the carnage to lead into the first corner, and was never challenged for the win. Prema Powerteam’s Ocon led Carlin driver King home for second, while Santino Ferrucci took his second top five finish of the day for EuroInternational with fourth; the youngest driver on the field held of the determined challenge of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Gustavo Menezes to once again belie his relative inexperience.

Sean Galael took his best result of the season in sixth, holding off his Jagonya Ayam with Carlin team-mate Antonio Giovinazzi to the flag. Lucas Auer of Mücke Motorsport was one of the drivers to be stuck in the opening lap melee at the first corner but recovered to finish eighth, but has lost ground in the championship to both Ocon and Verstappen.

Prema Powerteam’s Antonio Fuoco took ninth place on the penultimate lap away from Tatiana Calderon of Jo Zeller Racing, with the only female driver in the field just holding on to the final point in tenth ahead of Felix Rosenqvist, another driver delayed at the start.

Norisring Race 3 Result

1 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 35m02.795s
2 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam +4.761s
3 Jordan King GBR Carlin +7.529s
4 Santino Ferrucci USA EuroInternational +21.187s
5 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing +21.779s
6 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +23.563s
7 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +25.319s
8 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport +25.910s
9 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam +26.394s
10 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing +26.931s
11 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport +26.986s
12 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport +30.513s
13 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 +30.901s
14 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport +34.358s
15 John Bryant-Meisner SWE Fortec Motorsports +38.043s
16 Hector Hurst GBR Team West-Tec F3 +41.697s
17 Mitchell Gilbert AUS Fortec Motorsports +42.543s
18 Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing +43.743s
19 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational +46.411s
RET Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam 14 Laps
RET Felipe Guimaraes BRZ Double R Racing 9 Laps
RET Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1 Lap
RET Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing 1 Lap
RET Jake Dennis GBR Carlin 0 Laps
RET Roy Nissany ISR Mücke Motorsport 0 Laps
RET Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam 0 Laps