Esteban Ocon takes Dominant Russian Pole

Current FIA European Formula 3 Championship leader Esteban Ocon took his eleventh pole position of the season in dominant fashion on the series’ debut at the Moscow Raceway in Russia. The Frenchman, part of the Lotus F1 Team’s young driver programme set a best lap time more than six tenths of a second faster than anybody else.

Prema Powerteam driver Ocon will be joined on the front row by Carlin’s Jordan King, with the 2013 British Formula 3 Champion taking his best qualifying result of the season. King’s fellow Briton Tom Blomqvist and Dutchman Max Verstappen will start on the second row of the grid, with the Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver beating the Van Amersfoort Racing driver by just 0.020s, but both were over eight tenths of a second behind Ocon.

Austrian Lucas Auer will start fifth in the leading Mücke Motorsport machine, alongside the second Carlin entry of Jake Dennis, while Ferrari Driver Academy driver Antonio Fuoco will start seventh in the second of the four Prema Powerteam entries.

Dutchman Jules Szymkowiak qualified eighth for Van Amersfoort Racing, ahead of Canadian Nicholas Latifi of Prema Powerteam and Puerto Rican Felix Serralles of Team West-Tec F3.

Twenty cars will start race one on Saturday, with the Fortec Motorsports, Double R Racing and ThreeBond with T-Sport teams opting to skip the Moscow round for various reasons.

Moscow Raceway Race 1 Qualifying Results

1 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam 1:26.530
2 Jordan King GBR Carlin 1:27.149
3 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:27.341
4 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 1:27.361
5 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport 1:27.422
6 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin 1:27.496
7 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam1 1:27.516
8 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing 1:27.643
9 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam 1:27.676
10 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 1:27.684
11 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport 1:27.724
12 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam 1:27.819
13 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing 1:27.929
14 Roy Nissany ISR Mücke Motorsport 1:28.039
15 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:28.052
16 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing 1:28.253
17 Santino Ferrucci USA EuroInternational 1:28.498
18 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:28.506
19 Hector Hurst GBR Team West-Tec F3 1:28.791
20 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational 1:29.103