Ocon Dominates as Verstappen Suffers Retirement

by Paul Hensby

Esteban Ocon took his second victory of the weekend at the Moscow Raceway as his main championship rival Max Verstappen was forced to retire with an alternator failure on lap twelve.

Prema Powerteam driver Ocon led comfortably from start to finish having started on pole position to take his seventh victory of the season, and finished 5.309s clear of team-mate Antonio Fuoco. The Italian held off the advances of Briton Tom Blomqvist of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin for the podium finish.

Verstappen was running fourth early in the race in his Van Amersfoort Racing entry, but began to slow and eventually called it a day in the pits as his paced dropped off dramatically. His failure to score and Ocon taking the win means the gap in the championship has risen up to 109 points.

Lucas Auer was fourth for Mücke Motorsport ahead of the Carlin duo of Jordan King in fifth and Jake Dennis in sixth, while Felix Rosenqvist shadowed Dennis for much of the race but could not find a way to get passed and was forced seventh in the second Mücke Motorsport machine.

Nicholas Latifi of Prema Powerteam withstood the pressure of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Gustavo Menezes to take eighth, with Menezes losing ninth to the fourth and final Prema Powerteam driver Dennis van de Laar on the final lap.

Moscow Raceway Race 2 Result

1 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam 35m42.871s
2 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam +5.309s
3 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +5.842s
4 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport +7.028s
5 Jordan King GBR Carlin +8.685s
6 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin +13.728s
7 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport +15.890s
8 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam +23.652s
9 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam +26.583s
10 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing +26.621s
11 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 +27.192s
12 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing +29.846s
13 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing +31.485s
14 Santino Ferrucci USA EuroInternational +34.724s
15 Roy Nissany ISR Mücke Motorsport +38.165s
16 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +50.904s
RET Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 23 Laps
RET Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational 15 Laps
RET Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 12 Laps
RET Hector Hurst GBR Team West-Tec F3 1 Lap


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More