Giovinazzi takes Race 2 Win after Verstappen Retires

Antonio Giovinazzi took his second win of the season after long time leader Max Verstappen retired with a mechanical problem. The Van Amersfoort Racing driver, in his new Red Bull liveried car, saw the opportunity to close the gap on Championship leader Esteban Ocon literally go up in smoke with just a handful of laps to go.

Verstappen had jumped into the lead at the start after pole sitter Tom Blomqvist made a poor getaway, while Blomqvist’s Jagonya Ayam with Carlin team-mate Giovinazzi moved into the second. It was a case of ‘follow the leader’ for the majority of the race as the top five drivers were covered by less than three seconds.

When Verstappen retired, Giovinazzi took the lead, and led home Blomqvist for a Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1-2 finish, while Ocon claimed third for Prema Powerteam ahead of his team-mate Antonio Fuoco.

Lucas Auer was fifth for Mücke Motorsport ahead of the leading Carlin machine of Jordan King, while Felix Rosenqvist placed seventh for Mücke Motorsport despite an excursion across the grass at the chicane.

Dubai driver Ed Jones was a distant eighth for Carlin, ahead of the only female driver in the field Tatiana Calderon in ninth, who made a good start from fifteenth on the grid and made a couple of good early overtaking manoeuvres to move into the top ten for Jo Zeller Racing. The final point went to Prema Powerteam’s Canadian driver Nicholas Latifi.

Jake Dennis’ terrible weekend continue when he was forced into the pits with a mechanical issue on the Carlin machine, but the young Briton was already outside the points.

Indonesian driver Sean Galael had the most exciting race of anyone, with the Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver having a couple of spins before obtaining a drive-through penalty for causing an accident with Team West-Tec F3 driver Felix Serralles going into turn one that saw the Puerto Rican driver retire.

Nurburgring Race 2 Result

1 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 34m39.329s
2 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +0.771s
3 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam +1.404s
4 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam +3.294s
5 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport +4.674s
6 Jordan King GBR Carlin +5.101s
7 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport +7.078s
8 Ed Jones UAE Carlin +15.488s
9 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing +18.511s
10 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam +19.100s
11 Roy Nissany ISR Mücke Motorsport +20.277s
12 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam +21.717s
13 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing +31.907s
14 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing +40.530s
15 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport +41.206s
16 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport +41.247s
17 Santino Ferrucci USA EuroInternational +47.283s
18 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational +48.368s
19 Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing +56.268s
20 Wing Chung Chang MAC Team West-Tec F3 +1m06.446s
21/RET Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +2 Laps
RET Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3
RET Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing
RET Jake Dennis GBR Carlin