European Formula 3

Ocon Leads Verstappen as Rain Hits Second Practice

1 Mins read

Current FIA European Formula 3 Championship leader Esteban Ocon was quickest in second practice as rain affected the session at the Nurburgring. The Prema Powerteam held off the challenge of main championship rival and new Red Bull Junior driver Max Verstappen of Van Amersfoort Racing.

In a session that saw lap times fifteen seconds slower than in first practice, Ocon and Verstappen, sporting the Lotus and Red Bull Racing colours respectively, were the only drivers to set lap times underneath 1:36s, and were separately by 0.019s.

Mucke Motorsport drivers Lucas Auer and Felix Rosenqvist were third and fourth ahead of Colombian Tatiana Calderon, who drives under the Jo Zeller Racing banner but is effectively the fourth driver within Mucke Motorsport.

Italian Antonio Fuoco was sixth fastest for Prema Powerteam ahead of Ed Jones, the only Carlin driver in the top ten. Roy Nissany of Mucke Motorsport was eighth, ahead of Felix Serralles of Team West-Tec F3 in ninth, while Jules Szymkowiak of Van Amersfoort Racing completed the top ten.

Jake Dennis, who was third fastest in the opening session, was an early casualty in the inclement weather conditions, crashing his Carlin machine, while Wing Chung Chang also had an off on his debut for Team West-Tec F3.

Qualifying for race one takes place later this afternoon, and with the weather playing havoc with the day’s track action, it could be an exciting session.

Nurburgring Practice 2 Times

1 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam 1:35.614
2 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 1:35.633
3 Lucas Auer AUT Mucke Motorsport 1:36.384
4 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mucke Motorsport 1:36.396
5 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing 1:36.464
6 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam 1:36.909
7 Ed Jones UAE Carlin 1:36.938
8 Roy Nissany ISR Mucke Motorsport 1:36.949
9 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 1:37.008
10 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing 1:37.186
11 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing 1:37.212
12 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:37.256
13 Santino Ferrucci USA EuroInternational 1:37.260
14 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:37.406
15 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:37.640
16 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam 1:37.697
17 Jordan King GBR Carlin 1:37.758
18 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:38.024
19 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam 1:38.858
20 Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing 1:40.619
21 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin 1:40.987
22 Wing Chung Chang MAC Team West-Tec F3 1:47.080
23 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin No Time
24 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational No Time


12474 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World ChallengePorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.