European Formula 3

Blomqvist wins as Verstappen stars at Imola

2 Mins read

Tom Blomqvist took his fifth FIA European Formula 3 Championship victory of the season but the star of the show was Max Verstappen as he kept his own outside chance of the championship alive with a stunning drive from eleventh to second.

Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver Blomqvist lead championship leader Esteban Ocon at the start and pulled away from the Prema Powerteam driver, before losing the advantage when the safety car was deployed to clear up Alexander Toril’s ThreeBond with T-Sport car that crashed at Piratella.

However, the Briton controlled the restart superbly and pulled away to win the race by 4.263s as those behind him battled for position.

Van Amersfoort Racing driver Verstappen had climbed up to sixth by the time of the safety car, and then overtook Nicholas Latifi for fifth and swept around the outside of Ocon for fourth, before inheriting third when Antonio Fuoco was forced to pit.

He then set off after Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin and caught the Italian with a couple of laps to go, and Verstappen out-dragged Giovinazzi to the finish line to snatch second place.

Ocon finished fourth ahead of Lucas Auer of Mücke Motorsport, who passed Latifi around the outside of Tamburello, with the Canadian being forced to settle for sixth.

Jake Dennis claimed seventh for Carlin ahead of Felix Serralles of Team West-Tec F3, while Felix Rosenqvist was ninth for Mücke Motorsport ahead of Gustavo Menezes of Van Amersfoort Racing.

Imola Race 2 Result

1 Tom Blomqvist SWE Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 35m13.491s
2 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing +4.263s
3 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +4.282s
4 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam +7.743s
5 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport +10.029s
6 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam +12.497s
7 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin +13.624s
8 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 +17.388s
9 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport +19.089s
10 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing +19.746s
11 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam +22.246s
12 Nick Cassidy NZL ThreeBond with T-Sport +23.867s
13 Ed Jones UAE Carlin +26.250s
14 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing +26.979s
15 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing +32.283s
16 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +32.689s
17 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational +34.096s
18 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport +35.384s
19 Jordan King GBR Carlin +35.533s
20 Sergio Matte Camara BRZ EuroInternational +37.902s
21 Roy Nissany ISR Mücke Motorsport +37.932s
22 Andy Chang CHN Team West-Tec F3 +37.949s
23 Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing +42.918s
24 Martin Cao CHN Fortec Motorsports +43.106s
25 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam +1 Lap
RET William Buller GBR Signature 13 Laps
RET Santino Ferrucci USA Fortec Motorsports 12 Laps
RET Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport 6 Laps


Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply