Plato Penalised For Turkington Clash, Morgan Wins Race Two

Jason Plato has lost his race two win in the penultimate Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the season at Brands Hatch, meaning Adam Morgan becomes a BTCC winner for the first time in his career.

The incident in question occurred on lap four of the second 17-lap encounter, where second-placed Plato sent his Triple Eight MG up the inside of the BMW of series champion, Colin Turkington, at Paddock Hill Bend when both diced for the lead.

Contact sent Turkington spinning into the barriers, Plato surviving a thrilling race to win after being overtaken by the Ciceley Racing Mercedes A-Class at Druids in the latter stages of the race. Morgan ran wide at Dingle Dell and handed Plato the victory, although West Surrey Racing appealed the penalty Plato was initially handed.

This was a 10-place grid penalty for race three, which puts him to the back of the grid for a third offence of the season.

Plato’s penalty has since also seen a 20-second penalty applied to his race two time following WSR’s subsequent successful appeal, meaning that Morgan inherits the race two win as Plato has been moved to 13th place in the race two results.

Plato still starts last for race three, Jack Clarke now starting from pole position.