Pole for Verstappen for Hockenheim opener

Max Verstappen returned to the scene of his maiden FIA European Formula 3 Championship victory and took pole position for race one of the season finale at Hockenheim.

The Van Amersfoort Racing driver defeated practice pacesetter Lucas Auer of Mücke Motorsport by just 0.018s to take his seventh pole position of 2014.

Tom Blomqvist, Verstappen’s rival for second place in the Drivers’ Championship, will start race one from third position, with only three points separating the two drivers going into this weekend in the Dutchman’s favour.

Antonio Giovinazzi made it an all-Jagonya Ayam with Carlin row two by setting the fourth fastest time of the session, while Jordan King of Carlin was fifth fastest ahead of newly crowned series champion Esteban Ocon of Prema Powerteam.

Felix Rosenqvist was seventh fastest for Mücke Motorsport ahead of Sean Galael of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, with Felix Serralles of Team West-Tec F3 ahead of Gustavo Menezes of Van Amersfoort Racing on row five.

Hockenheim Race 1 Qualifying Times

1 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 1:32.002
2 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport 1:32.020
3 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:32.076
4 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:32.341
5 Jordan King GBR Carlin 1:32.379
6 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam 1:32.414
7 Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport 1:32.485
8 Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:32.535
9 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 1:32.676
10 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing 1:32.760
11 Ed Jones UAE Carlin 1:32.810
12 Roy Nissany ISR Mücke Motorsport 1:32.815
13 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam 1:32.846
14 Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing 1:33.031
15 Nick Cassidy NZL ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:33.044
16 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing 1:33.152
17 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam 1:33.211
18 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin 1:33.274
19 Santino Ferrucci USA Fortec Motorsports 1:33.436
20 Stefano Coletti MON EuroInternational 1:33.516
21 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational 1:33.736
22 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:33.823
23 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport 1:33.897
24 Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing 1:34.051
25 Andy Chang MAC Team West-Tec F3 1:34.241