European Formula 3

Verstappen wins, Ocon crowned Champion

2 Mins read

2015 Toro Rosso Formula 1 driver Max Verstappen took victory for the ninth time in 2014 but it was not enough to prevent Esteban Ocon from claiming the FIA European Formula 3 Championship at Imola.

Prema Powerteam driver Ocon’s third place finish meant he secured the title with three races to spare.

Van Amersfoort Racing driver Verstappen had to battle past Antonio Fuoco of for the win, after the Italian had jumped ahead the Dutchman at the start. Fuoco was able to finish second, and dedicated his podium finish to his fellow Ferrari Driver Academy driver Jules Bianchi.

Nicholas Latifi claimed fourth on a good day for Prema Powerteam, ahead of Tom Blomqvist of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, with the Briton now in a close battle with Verstappen for the runners-up spot in the championship that will be decided next weekend at Hockenheim.

William Buller secured points on Signature’s return to the series for sixth, holding off Jake Dennis of Carlin in seventh, while Lucas Auer finished eighth for Mücke Motorsport.

Felix Serralles finished ninth for Team West-Tec F3, while Gustavo Menezes completed the top ten after a late race move on Jordan King.

There were three safety car periods during the race, with the race distance shortened to sixteen laps from the scheduled twenty due to those safety car interruptions.

The first was to clear Antonio Giovinazzi’s Jagonya Ayam with Carlin machine from the track after he clashed with Carlin driver Ed Jones on the opening lap, while the second was for Sandro Zeller who crashed his Jo Zeller Racing machine in a big way.

The third was for Felix Rosenqvist of Mücke Motorsport, who clashed with King going into Tamburello, with the Swede shaken but unhurt after becoming briefly airborne.

Imola Race 3 Result

1 Max Verstappen NED Van Amersfoort Racing 36m15.097s
2 Antonio Fuoco ITA Prema Powerteam +2.100s
3 Esteban Ocon FRA Prema Powerteam +3.066s
4 Nicholas Latifi CAN Prema Powerteam +3.650s
5 Tom Blomqvist GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin +4.030s
6 William Buller GBR Signature +6.799s
7 Jake Dennis GBR Carlin +7.421s
8 Lucas Auer AUT Mücke Motorsport +7.960s
9 Felix Serralles PUE Team West-Tec F3 +8.291s
10 Gustavo Menezes USA Van Amersfoort Racing +9.391s
11 Jordan King GBR Carlin +10.135s
12 Roy Nissany ISR Mücke Motorsport +11.070s
13 Dennis van de Laar NED Prema Powerteam +11.969s
14 Jules Szymkowiak NED Van Amersfoort Racing +12.786s
15 Alexander Toril ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport +13.846s
16 Santino Ferrucci USA Fortec Motorsports +16.144s
17 Michele Beretta ITA EuroInternational +17.479s
18 Andy Chang CHN Team West-Tec F3 +17.998s
19 Richard Goddard AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport +18.254s
20 Martin Cao CHN Fortec Motorsports +19.089s
21 Sergio Sette Camara BRZ EuroInternational +19.395s
22 Nick Cassidy NZL ThreeBond with T-Sport +24.934s
RET Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mücke Motorsport 10 Laps
RET Tatiana Calderon COL Jo Zeller Racing 5 Laps
RET Sean Galael INO Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 4 Laps
RET Sandro Zeller SWI Jo Zeller Racing 3 Laps
RET Ed Jones UAE Carlin 0 Laps
RET Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 0 Laps


Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply