DTM Set To Double Up The Action For 2015

2 Mins read

The pressure will be on the drivers, teams and manufacturers to deliver thrilling action that we have come to expect over the past few seasons, as 2015 sees the return of a two-race format per weekend to the series for the first time in a decade and a half.

That year saw the return of the DTM, after a four-year gap after the ITC’s last year of competition, back in 1996. “Mr. DTM,” Bernd Schneider, took his second title with Mercedes, ahead of current DTMDA spokesperson and then Opel works driver, Manuel Reuter.

Rights holders ITR are making strides forward to giving the fans a lot more action over a DTM race weekend, having taken on constructive ideas to help make the series more interesting.

Therefore, nine race weekends will see a total of 18 races next year, which will provide a stern test for soon-to-be defending champion Marco Wittmann. Each of the races will take place on the Saturday and Sunday, with further details of the revised format to follow in the coming weeks.

ITR Chairman, Hans Werner Aufrecht, echoed the fans’ reaction, which has helped the rights holder to make the decision: “We know that many DTM enthusiasts were keen on two races per weekend as every additional race minute promises additional excitement and action. Now we have responded to this desire.”

The season will start on the first weekend of May at the Hockenheimring, where the season will also conclude just five months later.

Hungary is the notable exclusion from the calendar, as the Hungaroring made its return to the DTM last year after a 26-year absence, where Wittmann took his second victory of the season.

Circuit Park Zandvoort now returns to the calendar, following the cancellation of the round in Guangzhou this year, as a result of the local race promoter having financial issues.

Along with the race by the Dutch North Sea coast, which will now be held in July, the DTM will also head back to the Red Bull Ring and Moscow Raceway in the height of the summer, meaning that the DTM will venture from home soil just three times next year.

Date Venue
1 – 3 May Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg
29 – 31 May Lausitzring
26 – 28 June Norisring
10 -12 July Circuit Park Zandvoort
31 July – 2 August Red Bull Ring
28 – 30 August Moscow Raceway
11 – 13 September etropolis Motorsport Arena Oschersleben
25 – 27 September Nürburgring
16 – 18 October Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg
 *The calendar is subject to approval by the DMSB and the FIA.

363 posts
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Müller to Skip Final Three Rounds, Eriksson Set to Continue in Dragon Seat

1 Mins read
Nico Müller will not return to Formula E for the remainder of the 2020-21 season as he turns his primary focus to racing in the DTM Series.

Kelvin van der Linde Celebrates 25th Birthday With His First DTM Win

2 Mins read
Whilst the rest of the pack battled for second and third place, the birthday boy thundered ahead to take his first ever DTM win.

Liam Lawson Becomes Youngest Ever DTM Race Winner

2 Mins read
In the first race of the 2021 DTM season, 19 year old Lawson gives Ferrari their first ever win in the DTM.

Leave a Reply