Formula E

Punta del Este ePrix qualifying groups

1 Mins read

Ahead of the second practice session at the Punta del Este ePrix, the four qualifying groups have been established for the later session.

The qualifying session is an all out scramble for the fastest lap time and determines the order for the race. The session is 55 minutes long, 40 of those minutes spent on track, and sees drivers divided into four groups of five cars.

Each group has 10 minutes to set their best time and have the boost of having  full power, 270bhp, available throughout with drivers only able to use one car.

Group 1

Jarno Trulli, Trulli GP

Nick Heidfeld, Venturi GP

Karun Chandhok, Mahindra Racing

Jean-Eric Vergne, Andretti Autosport

Daniel Abt, Audi Sport ABT

Group 2

Nico Prost, e.dams-Renault

Sebastien Buemi, e.dams-Renault

Matthew Brabham, Andretti Autosport

Salvador Duran, Amlin Aguri

Antonio Garcia, China Racing

Group 3

Jerome D’Ambrosio, Dragon Racing

Bruno Senna, Mahindra Racing

Sam Bird, Virgin Racing

Nelson Piquet Jr, China Racing

Antonio Felix Da Costa, Amlin Aguri

Group 4

Oriol Servia, Dragon Racing

Michela Cerutti, Trulli GP

Stephane Sarrazin, Venturi GP

Jaime Alguersuari, Virgin Racing

Lucas Di Grassi, Audi Sport ABT

130 posts

About author
A second year sports journalist at the University of Huddersfield, Tom Errington has spent over a year in the motorsport industry. He spent the 2014 season with SRO on British GT and British F3, even helping out with Blancpain in the Spa 24 Hours, before later becoming a freelancer with the Lotus F1 Team helping with PR and website content.
Related posts
Formula 2Formula E

Jehan Daruvala to Make Formula E Debut With Maserati

1 Mins read
Formula 2’s Jehan Daruvala is set to make his Formula E debut with Maserati MSG Racing
Formula E

Formula E Title Contenders Embrace Ancient Rome's Spirit Ahead of Rome E-Prix Double Header

2 Mins read
The top four contenders in the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship came together in Rome to pay tribute to the fearless charioteers of ancient Rome. As they gear up for the Rome E-Prix double header, Jake Dennis, Nick Cassidy, Pascal Wehrlein, and Mitch Evans took part in a chariot-themed photoshoot at the historic Circus Maximus.
Formula E

Jake Hughes and McLaren Seek Redemption at 2023 Rome E-Prix

1 Mins read
Jake Hughes and the NEOM McLaren Formula E Team are determined to bounce back at the Rome E-Prix after a challenging race in Portland.