European Formula 3

Prema pounce to top free practice sessions at Silverstone

1 Mins read

Prema Powerteam led the way in both morning free practice sessions at Silverstone as the 2015 FIA European Formula 3 Championship got underway on Friday.

Canadian Lance Stroll set the fastest time in the first of the two sessions ahead of qualifying, before his team-mate Brandon Maisano set the pace in the second.

The fastest times of the sessions were set in the second session, with times tumbling as drivers took on new tyres for the first time for qualifying simulation runs, although traffic was a major player as it was always going to be with thirty-five drivers eager to impress.

Stroll led Carlin’s George Russell and Antonio Giovinazzi in the first session, before Maisano set the best time in FP2, ahead of team-mate and series veteran Felix Rosenqvist, while Russell was again quick in third.

Fourth fastest overall over the two sessions was Giovinazzi, ahead of Monegasque driver Charles Leclerc of Van Amersfoort Racing, while Stroll dropped to sixth.

Jake Dennis was seventh in the fourth Prema entry, ensuring that the team remain the team to beat this season after winning four consecutive driver’s championships in the past four years.

Callum Ilott was an impressive eighth quickest for Carlin on his International single-seater debut, ahead of Mikkel Jensen in the leading Mücke Motorsport machine and Markus Pommer of Motopark, who rounded out the top ten.

Santino Ferrucci had a disrupted couple of sessions in his Mücke Motorsport machine after having a clutch spring break, while Sam MacLeod had a wiring issue in his Motopark machine.

There was one red flag period during the morning session, when Zhi Cong Li’s Fortec Motorsports machine took a trip through the gravel trap and covered the circuit with gravel that needed cleaning.

Silverstone Free Practice 1 Times

[table id=89 /]

Silverstone Free Practice 2 Times

[table id=90 /]

Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World Challenge Europe Endurance CupPorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.

Leave a Reply