Rosenqvist storms to opening pole of 2015

FIA European Formula 3 Championship veteran Felix Rosenqvist took pole position for the season opener during a hectic qualifying session at Silverstone.

The Prema Powerteam driver set a best time of 1m51.007s to pip Antonio Giovinazzi of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin by 0.267s, while Rosenqvist’s team-mate, Jake Dennis was the best placed Briton in third.

The trio were almost together on track during the session, and used their experience to find space when others were tripping over each other to take the top three grid slots for race one.

George Russell continued his impressive weekend so far with the fourth fastest time for Carlin, with Charles Leclerc fifth for Van Amersfoort Racing. He will be joined on row three of the grid by practice pacesetter Brandon Maisano, who could not quite match his practice time in qualifying.

Lotus Junior Team driver Alexander Albon put his Signature machine into seventh place on the grid for tomorrow’s first race, ahead of the fourth Prema Powerteam machine of Lance Stroll, with the Italian Formula 4 Champion just beating German Formula 3 Champion Markus Pommer of Motopark.

Pommer set an identical time to that of tenth placed series rookie Callum Ilott, but the Carlin driver will start behind the Motopark driver on the basis of setting the time after the German had set his time.

The track was hectic throughout the twenty-minute session, with thirty-five cars all seeking that clear bit of track to set the best time possible. Alessio Lorandi had a quick spin in his Van Amersfoort Racing machine at Club Corner mid-way through the session in an otherwise clean session.

Silverstone Qualifying 1 Times

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m51.007s
23Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m51.274s
32Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m51.332s
410George RussellGBRCarlin1m51.652s
57Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m51.685s
624Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m51.768s
721Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m51.792s
825Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m52.066s
933Markus PommerGERMotopark1m52.113s
1030Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m52.113s
1128Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m52.294s
1226Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m52.309s
134Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m52.324s
1415Nicolas BeerDENEuroInternational1m52.352s
1522Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m52.374s
1629Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m52.426s
1712Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m52.443s
1823Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m52.446s
1911Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m52.486s
2020Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m52.490s
218Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m52.496s
2238Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m52.543s
2327Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m52.543s
249Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m52.798s
255Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m52.849s
2636Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m52.879s
2731Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports1m52.901s
2817Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m52.938s
2919Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m53.039s
306Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m53.073s
3135Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m53.198s
3214Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m53.251s
3332Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m53.305s
3418Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing1m53.705s
3534Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m53.874s