European Formula 3

Rosenqvist takes pole for Hockenheim opener

1 Mins read

Felix Rosenqvist beat FIA European Formula 3 Championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi to pole position for race one of round two of the season at Hockenheim.

The Prema Powerteam driver beat the Jagonya Ayam with Carlin driver by just 0.014s for top spot, but Rosenqvist’s 1m32.455s lap was enough to take pole.

Maximilian Günther was an excellent third for Mücke Motorsport, with the German driver setting a time only 0.154s away from the pole time. He will be joined on the second row by fellow rookie Charles Leclerc of Van Amersfoort Racing, while Prema Powerteam trio Lance Stroll, Jake Dennis and Brandon Maisano were fifth, sixth and seventh respectively.

Raoul Hyman, a late addition to the championship ahead of the first round at Silverstone three weeks ago, was an excellent eighth during the session for Team West-Tec F3, while Callum Ilott will start ninth in the leading Carlin entry. 2014 German Formula 3 Champion Markus Pommer completed the top ten for Team Motopark, while one second covered the first nineteen competitors.

One of the stars of Silverstone, George Russell, had a less impressive session at Hockenheim, with the Briton qualifying down in twentieth position in his Carlin.

The session was affected by an early red flag when Alexander Albon ended up in the Sachskurve gravel trap after complaining of brake problems. The Signature driver narrowly avoided both Maisano and the barriers, but was unable to continue his session and will start thirty-fifth and last in race one.

But no one was to deny Rosenqvist another pole position. Qualifying for races two and three takes place on Friday morning, while race one takes place on Friday afternoon.

Hockenheim Race 1 Qualifying Times

[table id=199 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
DTMEuropean Formula 3Formula European MastersGeneral Formula 3

Fenestraz Loses Renault Backing after Failing to Meet Top Three Target

1 Mins read
Sacha Fenestraz’s failure to finish inside the top three in the FIA European Formula 3 championship in 2018 has cost him his place in the Renault Sport Academy.
European Formula 3Season Review

Season Review: 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship - Schumacher's Title

7 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship season, a year where the name of Schumacher once again became the one to beat in motor sport.
DTMEuropean Formula 3FIA World RallycrossGT World ChallengePorsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Andreas Bakkerud Heads Audi's Rookie Test Line-Up

1 Mins read
The World Rallycross Championship race winner is one of the six drivers called up by Audi for the end-of-season rookie testing.