Rosenqvist tops Hockenheim practice sessions

by Paul Hensby

Felix Rosenqvist continued his strong start to the season by topping both FIA European Formula 3 free practice sessions at Hockenheim on Thursday.

The Swede led a Prema Powerteam 1-2-3-4 in the opening session, with his 1m33.456s enough to see him finish ahead of team-mates Jake Dennis, Lance Stroll and Brandon Maisano.

Championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi was fifth fastest for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, ahead of Silverstone race three winner Charles Leclerc of Van Amersfoort Racing, while Santino Ferrucci was seventh as Mücke Motorsport enjoyed a much more productive day at Hockenheim than at any time at Silverstone.

Arjun Maini was eighth quickest in a second Van Amersfoort Racing entry, ahead of Mücke Motorsport’s Michele Beretta, while Sergio Sette Camara of Motopark completed the top ten in the opening session that saw the top fourteen drivers covered by less than one second.

Rosenqvist continued to set the pace in the second session, with his 1m33.146s lap good enough to beat team-mate Stroll into second place. Ferrucci was third quickest ahead of Giovinazzi and Dennis, while Raoul Hyman of Team West-Tec F3 put in a good lap to set the sixth fastest time.

Leclerc was seventh ahead of George Russell of Carlin, with Beretta once again ninth ahead of Gustavo Menezes of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin. Once again the session was tight, with fifteen drivers this time within a second of Rosenqvist.

Hockenheim Free Practice 1 Times

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m33.456s
22Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m33.618s
325Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m33.756s
424Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m33.858s
53Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m33.882s
67Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m33.891s
75Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m34.093s
829Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m34.173s
96Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m34.200s
1023Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m34.223s
1128Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m34.242s
1227Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m34.292s
1333Markus PommerGERMotopark1m34.375s
1410George RussellGBRCarlin1m34.449s
1536Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m34.458s
1612Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m34.482s
1720Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m34.538s
1821Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m34.549s
198Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m34.627s
2030Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m34.649s
2122Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m34.732s
2215Nicolas BeerDENEuroInternational1m34.919s
2338Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m34.923s
249Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m34.928s
2511Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m34.934s
264Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m35.038s
2735Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m35.216s
2831Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports1m35.297s
2917Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m35.351s
3019Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m35.401s
3114Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m35.412s
3226Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m35.509s
3334Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m35.970s
3432Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m36.408s
3518Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R RacingNo Time

Hockenheim Free Practice 2 Times

11Felix RosenqvistSWEPrema Powerteam1m33.146s
225Lance StrollCANPrema Powerteam1m33.262s
35Santino FerrucciUSAMucke Motorsport1m33.516s
43Antonio GiovinazziITAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m33.644s
52Jake DennisGBRPrema Powerteam1m33.666s
638Raoul HymanRSATeam West-Tec F31m33.689s
77Charles LeclercMONVan Amersfoort Racing1m33.743s
810George RussellGBRCarlin1m33.817s
96Michele BerettaITAMucke Motorsport1m33.894s
104Gustavo MenezesUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m33.895s
1124Brandon MaisanoFRAPrema Powerteam1m33.947s
1227Mikkel JensenDENMucke Motorsport1m33.983s
1328Maximilian GuntherGERMucke Motorsport1m34.013s
1421Alexander AlbonTHASignature1m34.134s
158Alessio LorandiITAVan Amersfoort Racing1m34.145s
1612Pietro FittipaldiBRZFortec Motorsports1m34.234s
1729Arjun MainiINDVan Amersfoort Racing1m34.255s
1820Dorian BoccolacciFRASignature1m34.282s
1915Nicolas BeerDENEuroInternational1m34.363s
2033Markus PommerGERMotopark1m34.370s
2130Callum IlottGBRCarlin1m34.416s
2236Sam MacLeodGBRMotopark1m34.463s
239Tatiana CalderonCOLCarlin1m34.494s
2419Matt SolomonHKGDouble R Racing1m34.529s
2523Sergio Sette CamaraBRZMotopark1m34.590s
2614Matt RaoGBRFortec Motorsports1m34.667s
2717Julio MorenoECUThreebond with T-Sport1m34.676s
2822Nabil JeffriMAYMotopark1m34.729s
2911Fabian SchillerGERTeam West-Tec F31m34.765s
3035Kang LingCHNMucke Motorsport1m34.790s
3131Hongwei CaoCHNFortec Motorsports1m34.805s
3226Ryan TveterUSAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m35.024s
3334Mahaveer RaghunathanINDMotopark1m35.219s
3418Nicolas PohlerGERDouble R Racing1m35.224s
3532Zhi Cong LiCHNFortec Motorsports1m36.050s

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More